Bike attire considerations

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Bike attire considerations

I would just like to share my recent "stack'' (falling off a motorcycle) experience in the hopes that it might encourage new comers to the adventure motorcycling world like myself to consider what they wear when they ride.

First a bit of background, I taught myself to ride a motorcycle at the age 14 with the help of my dad. My first bike was a 1983 yamaha xt500 which still lives on the farm where I learnt most of my riding and falling.....mostly without any gear, bar a helmet occasionally. Put my neck in a brace ounce but that was it. At 15 I started fooling around on my dad's then BMW r1150gs adventure, also just with a helmet. Long story short Im a novice rider at best who thinks he is used to big bikes and that proper gear isn't all that important.

So today I ended up in a erosion ditch with my fairly new to me BMW g650 x challenge on its side. I was wearing a padded adventure jacket, decent helmet, jeans and jeep steal toe boots. I fell on my right side, mainly on my shoulder and banged my head once against the ground. Fortunately I wasn't hurt badly and came away with a few scrapes bruises and sore muscles. The interesting part was where I was hurt.....shoulder muscle hurt but no scrapes or cuts due to adventure jacket, neck muscles very sore and stiff-no neck brace, hands bruised and cut-no gloves, right leg has a few small roasties -no motorcycling pants, right foot muscles sore and stiff- no riding boots.

So in conclusion I hurt just about every part of me that did not have decent gear, and that in a small crash not doing silly speed. I would guess at a higher speed or more serious crash that gear would have made an even bigger difference. Its a massive schlep and expense to buy and then wear the amount of gear recommended but Im starting to think it really is worth it. Im not all ATGATT just yet but im definitely investing in some more riding gear.