Red face Route from Khwai to Linyanti

Dear all,

I am new to the whole Forum thing, please be patient with meif I do something wrong.

We plan to drive from Khwai to Linyanti in one day duringour trip in June 2017. I am not clear on the route and am getting a bit worriedon the duration and difficulty. I would appreciate any advice or experiencefrom people who has done this before.

Thanks,
    Sydney

Default Re: Route from Khwai to Linyanti

Hi Sydney and welcome to the forum,

There is actually only one "official" route from Khwai to Linyanti and it is well travelled.

You have to enter the Chobe NP at Mababe gate then head to Savuti. On this section of the route you have two track options, the sand ridge or the marsh "road"
    The latter is better choice during the dry season whereas impassable during wet season.

From Savuti you head north the Ghoha gate and turn left into the fire break (the easy option) or chose the track up the dune just north of the Savuti camp site which will be the more challenging way.

If you intend the whole stretch without stop-over in Savuti, calculate a whole day for the 130 (+) kms.
    Walter Rene Gygax
    Kalahari Safari
    ORRA Call:​ WB58 | ICASA ZRF430
    Nissan Patrol GU TB45
    | Nissan Safari GU TD42 | B'rakah 4x4 Trailer
    E34 - 535i for a bit of nostalgia
    E39 - 540i for the open roads

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Kalahari Safari For This Useful Post:

Thanks.
    What about the "Transit road" going straight North? Can that not be used, Google suggest I can drive straight north on the transit road. Realizing Google maps is not suitable for Botswana navigation - I had to ask.

i last used that north south cutline road west of chobe in about 2007 and it was like a highway . More recently though someone said its overgrown . But i would try it again .