Beware where you place your feet ...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Beware where you place your feet ...

Most people only worry about lions and other big predators, especially when contemplating to take young children camping in unfenced sites. We were camping in Polentswa 2 and met this little fellow ... now I have a lot of experience camping, and visiting wild areas around the world and barely bat an eyelid when once I had a tarantula on my foot in South America - but I have never seen anything like this scorpion. It was extremely aggressive. The first time I encountered it it was suddenly running straight towards me and I avoided the sting my milliseconds. It then kept chasing and lunging at me despite trying to stay out of its way. At some point I needed to get something from the car - flashed the torch everywhere and thought the coast was clear. Once I was not moving it again came at me from under the car tire. Even less milliseconds from contact with the sting.

Anyway, just wanted to remind people to always be vigilant, especially those with little children - and those who have weak immune systems etc - if you get stung at night in a place like Polentswa by something like this there's not much that can be done! Wear closed shoes, preferably boots, and watch where you step and be aware even when stationary. I had only sneakers with me and I regret that decision! I don't want to scare any people - in all my travels this is the first time I met such a crazy creature. But sometimes you meet creatures that don't behave like the norm - I would guess most scorpions are usually shy and mind their own business

I would be interested to hear anyone else's experience with aggressive scorpions, and what is the best course of action to take if stung at night in a remote location.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Scorpion Polentswa.jpg 
Views:	1155 
Size:	183.4 KB 
ID:	419511

2. The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to cheetah80 For This Useful Post: