Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Thread: Skilpadjies

Default Re: Skilpadjies

Quote Originally Posted by New View Post
    Reviving this!

I have been buying the standard Checkers Skilpaadjies for months now. Eat it as the protein part of dinner at least twice a month.

I have figured that they are awesome in the airfryer, if not braaing. I just add some nice spices and in they go on lower temps until crispy!

Dinner meat for two for around R 35! And they are divine!
    The checkers ones are okay but if you are ever in the moreletta area get some from the Boma in Rubenstein street next to the checkers Centre. It is on another level.

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MariusT For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by jelo View Post
    top tip is to cook them from frozen..............

this allows the fat and outer layer to set properly and the inside stays moist
    Sal onthou! Ek sê steeds, Heuwelsig Spar 200m van my huis af s'n is koningskos!
    2001 Gen 3 Pajero swb 3.2 Di-D

We LOVE Skilpadjies !

Can't always get them at a "right" price or even at all - sometimes get met by a blank stare ..... you want WHAT ?

Great on the braai fire as mentioned above - cook with care.

Eish ! Ek is nou sommer honger !
    Peter Hutchison
    Answering the call of the wild is just so much better than answering the mobile.
    Waking up in the morning is a good start. Then remember never ever to cross off the last item on your "bucket list" before first adding at least one more !!

Isuzu KB 280DT D/C 1998 (WIP) Heading for 500 000 Km shortly.
    Platkar = 2010 Chevy Spark 1.2 (60 000 Km in 13+ years - town kar)

Bastids the lot of you.

My favourites except for the last time I had them the gout hit me really hard.
    Stranger

Lusted for a Landy but the Pajero was sexier and bigger in the right departments, just like my Missus.

GOF Club
    2004 Gen 3. 3.8i petrol V6 (PAJTU)
    X Factor Bundutop trailer (designed by me)
    1998 Blister Fender Pajero 3500 24V (PAJ) (Sold)
    BMW R1200R

Quote Originally Posted by Jens78 View Post
    Sal onthou! Ek sê steeds, Heuwelsig Spar 200m van my huis af s'n is koningskos!
    Die boeremark sn is net so lekker
    2010 Isuzu KB250 dteq d/c
    2023 Suzuki Ciaz (Swambos platkar)

Quote Originally Posted by FWM View Post
    Amper! Maar nie stamper...

Quote Originally Posted by MickeyBlue42 View Post
    Any fans here for skilpadjies?
    I love skilpadjies, actually going to have this weekend some.
    Great minds discuss ideas, average minds discuss events, small minds discuss people - Eleanor Roosevelt.

The good thing that Checkers has done to them is made them bigger so you now only get 6 & not 9.. It is a big improvement, a really good move..
    If you dont fiddle with them to much and a slow quaffing fire mmm too much of nice

Quote Originally Posted by Peter1949 View Post
    We LOVE Skilpadjies !

Can't always get them at a "right" price or even at all - sometimes get met by a blank stare ..... you want WHAT ?

Great on the braai fire as mentioned above - cook with care.

Eish ! Ek is nou sommer honger !
    I wanna send you some! But how?

Quote Originally Posted by Peter1949 View Post
    Can't always get them at a "right" price or even at all - sometimes get met by a blank stare ..... you want WHAT?
    Good point, I also once tried to explain to the lady at Checkers I want skilpadjies, after a while I just gave up. what is the Ingelsman word for skilpadjies?
    Great minds discuss ideas, average minds discuss events, small minds discuss people - Eleanor Roosevelt.

Quote Originally Posted by JCMostert View Post
    Good point, I also once tried to explain to the lady at Checkers I want skilpadjies, after a while I just gave up. what is the Ingelsman word for skilpadjies?
    Skill pah jeeez

13. The Following User Says Thank You to Jens78 For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by JCMostert View Post
    Llamb's liver wrapped in caul fat.

Show her the picture:
    Name:  skilpadjies.jpg
Views: 591
Size:  15.2 KB
    Last edited by 4ePajero; 2020/08/19 at 03:20 PM.
    2003 Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-d LWB

15. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to 4ePajero For This Useful Post:

Skill pah jeeez
    In English, IT works NOT.
    Peter Hutchison
    Answering the call of the wild is just so much better than answering the mobile.
    Waking up in the morning is a good start. Then remember never ever to cross off the last item on your "bucket list" before first adding at least one more !!

Quote Originally Posted by 4eTouareg View Post
    Llamb's liver wrapped in caul fat.
    Would that be a llama/lamb hybrid? Does the taste delliver and is it as dellicious?
    Last edited by Jens78; 2020/08/19 at 03:22 PM.

Would that be a llama/lamb hybrid?
    Maybe from Nepal ??
    Peter Hutchison

Would that be a llama/lamb hybrid? Does the taste delliver and is it as dellicious?
    Don't laugh at people who stutter!
    Last edited by 4ePajero; 2020/08/19 at 03:48 PM.
    2003 Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-d LWB

Quote Originally Posted by 4eTouareg View Post
    Don't laugh at people who stutter!
    I shouldn't, having some speed wobble speech myself...

SWAMBO's family makes the best....IMHO...Minced liver with their boerewors spiced mixed in....Mmmmmm

Available at Impala vleis...Brits....think that is Jelo's valley...
    Last edited by Nitebob; 2020/08/19 at 04:04 PM.
    2014 Duster 1.5Dci

Somebody please give me the name of a butcher that can prep these for me in the Randburg area.
    Last had them 'op die plaas' at inlaws and was delicious.

Quote Originally Posted by FWM View Post
    Fauna Vleismark verkoop gewone ookskilpadjies en dan ook een met maalvleis gemaak. Ek koop gereëld daar.

I also knows a Pofadder to be a colon (vetderm) stuffed with liver and kidney cubes and some union and spices aded to taste.

24. The Following User Says Thank You to Viertrek For This Useful Post:

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast