Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Thread: Skilpadjies

Default Re: Skilpadjies

As lovely as they are to braai and chow, I think they are even better cold the next morning as game drive padkos.

2018 Mobi Lodge

The best thing since sliced bread
    And, yes... tastes so much better when braaid on a wood fire..
    Albertonian

two skilpadjies on a roosterkoek, taste like heaven
    Gerhard Beukes
    Mr Big

2015 Navara 4x4
    4x4 Com Radio: 1033

SWAMBO'S family have an abbatoir in Riebeek Kasteel, and they have both varieties, plus they started doing a chicken skilpaadjie. Soft chicken strips with fat....OMW!

Quote Originally Posted by jagbeukes View Post
    two skilpadjies on a roosterkoek, taste like heaven
    Just remember to remove those tooth picks.
    Pajero GLS Exceed 2014 LWB &
    Jeep Cherokee 2001 2.5 Diesel, Gone to Jeep Heaven
    Toyota Hilux, plaas bakkie
    Platkar Swambo's MB

Quote Originally Posted by Toccata (Roelof) View Post
    As lovely as they are to braai and chow, I think they are even better cold the next morning as game drive padkos.
    Yebo, braai hors d'oeuvr and ditto on the next day snack.
    Peter Hutchison
    Answering the call of the wild is just so much better than answering the mobile.
    Waking up in the morning is a good start. Then remember never ever to cross off the last item on your "bucket list" before first adding at least one more !!

Isuzu KB 280DT D/C 1998 (WIP) Heading for 500 000 Km shortly.
    Platkar = 2010 Chevy Spark 1.2 (60 000 Km in 13+ years - town kar)

Quote Originally Posted by Nitebob View Post
    SWAMBO'S family have an abbatoir in Riebeek Kasteel, and they have both varieties, plus they started doing a chicken skilpaadjie. Soft chicken strips with fat....OMW!
    Delico?

What are they made of?

Quote Originally Posted by NewLandy View Post
    What are they made of?
    Skilpadjies is a traditional South African food, also known by other names such as muise, vlermuise and pofadder.
    The dish is lamb's liver wrapped in netvet (caul fat), which is the fatty membrane that surrounds the kidneys. Most cooksmince the liver, add coriander, chopped onion, salt and Worcestershire sauce then wrap balls of this mixture with thenetvet and secure it with a toothpick. The balls, approximately 80 mm (3.1 in) in diameter, are normally barbecued (grilled over an open fire) and ready when the fat is crisp.
    Dishes such as skilpadjies had already been made by the ancient Romans[1] and the German recipe for calf's liver in caul fat appears in the book "Das Buoch von guoter Spise".[2]
    The names skilpadjie (little tortoise), muise (mice), vlermuise (bats) and pofadder (puff adder) reflect its appearance.Pofadder is the largest version, the size of a man's forearm. It is made from minced lamb's liver wrapped in a large piece ofnetvet, and is usually served at parties where about 8 to 10 servings can be sliced from one pofadder when grilled.
    It is a very rich, high cholesterol and fatty food; the consumers normally eat some starchy food in the form of mealie pap or toasted bread with the skilpadjies, so as not to attract some symptoms of over-indulgence.
    Gerhard Beukes
    Mr Big

2015 Navara 4x4
    4x4 Com Radio: 1033

10. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jagbeukes For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by Nitebob View Post
    Awesome.just did a wedding there over Easter. Sure I must have eaten some of their product as the BnB said the sausages and the bacon were both from down the road
    1997 Discovery 1 300tdi "Pussy Galore" SOLD
    1996 Discovery 1 V8 - Mr Creosote
    1983 W123 240D Mercedes Benz - Oksana SOLD
    1984 W123 230E Mercedes Benz - James
    1998 Discovery 1 300tdi "Pussy Galore II"

“When I dine after a hard day’s work, I like serenity, calm, good food, cold beverages.” – Winston Churchill

Skilpadjies is a traditional South African food, also known by other names such as muise, vlermuise and pofadder.
    The dish is lamb's liver wrapped in netvet (caul fat), which is the fatty membrane that surrounds the kidneys. Most cooksmince the liver, add coriander, chopped onion, salt and Worcestershire sauce then wrap balls of this mixture with thenetvet and secure it with a toothpick. The balls, approximately 80 mm (3.1 in) in diameter, are normally barbecued (grilled over an open fire) and ready when the fat is crisp.
    Dishes such as skilpadjies had already been made by the ancient Romans[1] and the German recipe for calf's liver in caul fat appears in the book "Das Buoch von guoter Spise".[2]
    The names skilpadjie (little tortoise), muise (mice), vlermuise (bats) and pofadder (puff adder) reflect its appearance.Pofadder is the largest version, the size of a man's forearm. It is made from minced lamb's liver wrapped in a large piece ofnetvet, and is usually served at parties where about 8 to 10 servings can be sliced from one pofadder when grilled.
    It is a very rich, high cholesterol and fatty food; the consumers normally eat some starchy food in the form of mealie pap or toasted bread with the skilpadjies, so as not to attract some symptoms of over-indulgence.

Interesting read.

I know a pofadder as minced liver mixed with blood and spices (and maybe some other unmentionables) all tied up into a long properly sized "derm". A string of fat all along the full length gives it the puff adder look.

You have to braai it on a slow fire so as not to rupture the skin or it will spill some of the stuffing.
    Eggie.

"You’re 18. Take that spoon out of your nose, take the needle out of your arm, take the beer out of your mouth, and go vote, you know what I mean? Vote. Register and vote like a beast.."
    - Frank Zappa

I have tried it a couple of times, but the liver taste is just too strong for me....grill...

This was my Friday at the end of tough week.... Potbrood Skilli, Billi, Chilli and beer....

Name:	20160729_181148.jpg 
Views:	1197 
Size:	70.2 KB 
ID:	412813  
    Sarel
    "Grent" Vitara x 2
    (One legit and one platkar masquerading as a GV)

15. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to New For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by Eggie View Post
    Interesting read.

I know a pofadder as minced liver mixed with blood and spices (and maybe some other unmentionables) all tied up into a long properly sized "derm". A string of fat all along the full length gives it the puff adder look.

You have to braai it on a slow fire so as not to rupture the skin or it will spill some of the stuffing.
    The Pofadder I know is the liver and kidney pieces, spices, onion, etc in a "vetderm" (colon ?), braaied until it is good and crispy outside.

Hoe water my bek nou !!!

Hier is hy - NJAMMMMMMMMM

Name:	BOEREWORS+POFADDER.jpg 
Views:	904 
Size:	82.6 KB 
ID:	412814

Quote Originally Posted by ThysleRoux View Post
    Hier is hy - NJAMMMMMMMMM

Name:	BOEREWORS+POFADDER.jpg 
Views:	904 
Size:	82.6 KB 
ID:	412814

Sjoe!
    Dit lyk meer na 'n pofadder as 'n regte pofadder.
    Eggie.

"You’re 18. Take that spoon out of your nose, take the needle out of your arm, take the beer out of your mouth, and go vote, you know what I mean? Vote. Register and vote like a beast.."
    - Frank Zappa

My sister makes them with half liver and half mince and just a tiny hint of curry added. To die for!

Life is a journey, not a race. Enjoy it!

Quote Originally Posted by VWSyncro View Post
    My sister makes them with half liver and half mince and just a tiny hint of curry added. To die for!

Durban Skilpadjies ?
    Eggie.

- Frank Zappa

21. The Following User Says Thank You to Eggie For This Useful Post:

Reviving this!

I have been buying the standard Checkers Skilpaadjies for months now. Eat it as the protein part of dinner at least twice a month.

I have figured that they are awesome in the airfryer, if not braaing. I just add some nice spices and in they go on lower temps until crispy!

Dinner meat for two for around R 35! And they are divine!
    Sarel
    "Grent" Vitara x 2
    (One legit and one platkar masquerading as a GV)

23. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to New For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by Eggie View Post
    top tip is to cook them from frozen..............

this allows the fat and outer layer to set properly and the inside stays moist

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast