Discovery 1 Diesel pump leak

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Discovery 1 Diesel pump leak

Hi everyone. Don't know who remembers my original post regarding my dear 300tdi disco 1 who tragically got a engine blown on my way back from Kosi Bay about a year ago...

As I'm a student the landy was repaired piece by piece now and is finally running again (sort of anyways).
    The dieselpump now leaks at the top end of the screw and I would like to know if any of you guys on the forum could give advise or perhaps know where I could get my hands on a spare one (reasonably priced).

Apparantly one can buy a new sealing kit as to replace the leaking one, but I am not sure as to the recalibration of the pump after this...
    Last edited by Turksvy; 2016/05/15 at 09:46 PM.

Default Re: Discovery 1 Diesel pump leak

Is it the injector pump leaking at the diesel inlet pipe to injector pump if so it is just copper crush washers and easy to replace
    You also have a spill return pipe from injectors to pump and that also is the injector pump bleed off also has copper washers
    Check all pipes for damage first or washers leaking
    If it is the main housing on injector pump then pump has to come out to be fixed I am 100 sure
    1995 300TDi Defender with VGT Turbo (stolen by my son now )
    2002 Defender with LS1 MS3 ECU, 4L80e, LT230 1.222, Lockers and HD CW&P, 35" with 4" Lift
    2005 Defender TD5

Depending on the mileage it would've been wise to maybe do the injectors and pump as well. I made that (quite costly) mistake on a K2700. Assumed the motor was new (according to customer) but had run bearings. We overhauled the motor and since "the motor was new" didn't do the injectors. 1000km later we had a piston with a hole in it...sorry might be slightly off topic, but my 2c

Quote Originally Posted by Turksvy View Post