Richtersveld in January

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Richtersveld in January

I am planning a trip to Richtersveld next year in January as part of a trip mostly through Namibia. I know its probably very hot but well... We will be renting a 4x4 Double Cab, probably it is gonna be a Ford Ranger or a Toyota Hilux.

I have a couple of questions:

1) How long will driving time be from Springbok to Tatasberg Camp? Can I easilly make it in one day?

2) What drives would you suggest to make in the Tatasberg area, starting from there and returning to Tatasberg? I have some experience, but as we only will be in one vehicle I want to avoid very difficult drives for safety reasons. I do not mind deep sand or rocky tracks but do mind jumping from Rock to Rock.

3) What will the driving time be from Tatasberg to Hobas Camp?

Thank you!

Default Re: Richtersveld in January

Anybody especially for driving time from Springbok to Tatasberg Wilderness Camp? I am sure some people here have done it. I want to do it via Eksteensfontein btw.

Dit hang af hoe baie jy stilhou. Ons was op tot by Rosynebos. Van Eksteensfontein af is dit so 2 ure tot by Sendelingsdrif en dan so 3 ure tot by De Hoop. Tatasberg is nog so 2 uur se ry van De Hoop af. Daar is 'n ander pad wat direk Tatasberg toe gaan maar ek dink dit sal dieselfde tyd neem. Neem genoeg water saam vir drink. Ons het 3 liter per persoon per dag saam ganeem en dit was net genoeg. Die afstande is nie so ver nir maar die meeste paaie moet jy stadig ry. Baie sinkplaat en dan is dit maar tweespoor pad.

Thank you fanusl.

I had to put this into Google translator I do not speak afrikaans unfortunately.

According to the translation you wrote 2 hours from Eksteensfontein to Sendelingsdrif and 3 hours to De Hoop. It wasn´t quite clear in the translation if you meant 3 hours total from Eksteensfontein to De Hoop or 3 more hours from Sendelingsdrif to De Hoop (I guess the latter....?)