Deep Cycle or High Cycle with Solar

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Deep Cycle or High Cycle with Solar

Hi all, I know the Solar and battery topic has been excessively posted but I have very little experience in this department and I can't seem to find out what I need.

I currently have a NL 50l Weekender Fridge, a Deltec 105ah deep cycle battery in the NL Power Pack and 100w Solar Panel.

Firstly, how many amp hours can i expect from the 100w panel (2 X 50w) in an average day with good to average sunlight, at best the 50L fridge will draw 2.5amps per hour and expect to get about 12 hours before the power pack turns off to protect the battery (Maybe more if i switch the fridge off at night). according to the NL power pack this works out to be about 30ah loss.

How many amp hours could I realistically hope the 100w can replace back into the battery if the panels get decent sunlight for about 4 - 5 hours?

Secondly, National Luna mentioned that sometimes high cycle batteries can be better then deep cycle but it depends on the scenario, would I be better off with a faster charging high cycle battery or remain with my deep cycle?

I only want to run the fridge as all other lights I will run from standard batteries, we are expecting to be at each camp site no longer then 3 days in Chobe area this December, would love to keep the 50L Weekender running for the 3 full days if at all possible. Any advice would be appreciated
    Last edited by JK2008ZA; 2016/04/12 at 08:47 AM. Reason: Grumpy member

Default Re: Deep Cycle or High Cycle with Solar

Quote Originally Posted by JK2008ZA View Post