Camping at Chelinda, Nyika Plateau

Default Camping at Chelinda, Nyika Plateau

Hi everybody,

I'm new to this great community, so it's possible this question has been answered many times before.

I'm heading up to Malawi in a week's time and am trying to find out about camping in Nyika Plateau National Park. Potentially any time in the next month or so.

I have looked up camping in Nyika a few times and keep coming up with Central African Wilderness Safaris and see no mention of camping. Only chalets, etc.

Even if I don't get a spot this time, it would be great to know if there is still camping up there and if so, rough cost and who to get in touch with for bookings.

Cheers & thanks

Dave

Hi Dave, there is a camp site at Chelinda with rudimentary ablutions, but perfectly adequate. If it gets too cold (and it gets bloody cold up there) you can also book into one of the cottages/chalets/houses (there is a variety of accommodation). If you want more info, send a PM to Itchyfeet (Lisa) who worked up there for a couple of years. There are theoretically also some wild outlying campsites and cottages, but it depends on the present state of management as to whether or not they are in operation.
    The Nyika is one of Africa's most special places, so please go there, it needs support.
    Vwaza Marsh, at the base of the Nyika and close to the entrance, is also a special place, with magnificent birding and a small elephant population. RE the Nyika, it is well worth reading Laurens van der Post's "Venture to the Interior" before heading up there. Lovely stuff, even if the old man was a bit of a bull duster.
    Last edited by Tony Weaver; 2015/12/22 at 11:26 PM.

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by Tony Weaver View Post