Freelander II - Really, Softroader??

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Freelander II - Really, Softroader??

I drive a Land Rover in Toyota country.

I bought me a 2013 SD4 SE almost a year ago, to be able to do field work when necessary. I work as a geophysicist and just came from an epic round trip: Windhoek - Ariamsvlei - Seeheim - Aus - Solitaire - Gamsberg Pass - Windhoek (2100km journey in three days). Half the journey was on gravel (Grunau to Seeheim and Aus to Windhoek via Solitaire on the C19 and C26 ).

We were under time pressure and every day had to reach our next destination before sunset as it is just down right stupid to drive the gravel roads at night. My colleagues were driving the old favourite 3.0D4D ahead of me. Because I had to catch up to the lead car (I stopped to take photos at places), when the gravel road was good I reached speeds of 140km/h, however, I could comfortably cruze between 100 - 130km/h. I even found myself doing 150km/h overtaking a Q7 3.0TDi that was set on staying ahead of me. It sounds ridiculous, but I was not on a pleasure ride, but had to complete our tasks within and I guess he was not prepared to drive in my dust cloud...which is nasty to drive in.

I must say, that on this journey, I drove the car with no Terrain response setting. My first long gravel drive, was on the Grass/Gravel/Snow setting, which I read to make the car always use 4x4 mode, whereas normally it will do 2x4 (mostly FWD). It was only once that the traction control flashed a couple of times. Is it better to drive in Gravel mode on the gravel roads?