Trip advice from Maun to Kasane via Moremi and Chobe

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Trip advice from Maun to Kasane via Moremi and Chobe

Firstly I want to say that 4x4community.co.za is an absolute encyclopaedia of selfdrive knowledge.

I'm a newbie here as you can see from my posts. I've been reading a lot in this forum and the internet, but I still would like some input, if possible.

4 of us will be in Botswana in 3 weeks and travelling from Maun to Kasane, via Moremi and Chobe. We'll be staying a couple of nights in Third Bridge and 1 night in Savuti. These are booked already.

We'll be driving a Toyota Hilux 3.0 4x4 double cab. We'll have Tracks4Africa maps and GPS for navigation.

The questions are:

1 - How long will the journey take from Maun to 3rd bridge?

2 - We have a fuel capacity of 140L. Is this enough for the journey?

3 - What's the best route to take to avoid long patches of deep sand or deep water?

4 - How can I check the conditions of the road or roughly how they'll be towards the end of May?

5 - As the camps are unfenced how do you manage to cook or go for a pee in the campsite or, even more importantly on the road, etc? Are there any areas of rest along the route?

6 - Any food supplies that would recommend for a 4 day in the bush?

If you also share any extra advice for a newbie on this route would be great.

Manny thanks for your help.

Jo

Hi Duffy seeing as you are from London.

there is no health and safety

the animals have not done the people orientation course

not all people speak English

If people do not understand you, speaking louder and slower will not help.
    Lusted for a Landy but the Pajero was sexier and bigger in the right departments, just like my Missus.

2004 Gen 3. 3.8i petrol V6 (PAJTU)
    X Factor Bundutop trailer (designed by me)
    1998 Blister Fender Pajero 3500 24V (PAJ) (Sold)
    BMW R1200R

Now for the serious answers.