Relays, fuses and other electrickery for my fan setup???

Default Relays, fuses and other electrickery for my fan setup???

I'm busy improving my V8's airflow issues by fitting 4 fans to the radiator.
    The fans are mounted and perform very well by just roughly connecting them directly to the battery.

Now I need to wire it all up to work the right way.

I'm not very good with automotive electrickery, so I please need some help. I want to do this myself, because local auto elecs just dissapoint me

Two of the fans are 90Watt each and I think the 2 big ones are 200Watt each, that's 580 Watts I need to drive.

I've got a thermal switch, but I know I cannot use that directly and need to incorporate a relay. I also need a switch to cut all power to the fans for water crossings.

My questions are as follows:

What size fuse do I need?
    What size cable do I need?
    What size relay do I need?
    How do I wire up the relay, switch, fuse and thermal switch into the system?
    A simple wiring diagram will help a lot

Hi Zantus

You have some serious blowing power there.

The combined load would be in the range of about 49A so I would suggest you split the circuit on to 3 relays with the two big fans on their own circuit and the smaller ones together.

The big ones will draw about 16A ea so I would opt for 4mm wire that could safely handle 30A and a standard Hella 30A 4pin relay that is also standard stock at any spares outlet. Each circuit should have its own 30A fuse to protect the cable.

The relays get power from the battery through it's own fuse and passes that on to the fans if switched on. The relays are switched on by the master switch and the thermal switch. For the fans to come on both master and thermal switch have to be on.

Excuse my draughting as it was done on the quick.

Shout if you need more

Henk
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by hbannink; 2008/07/22 at 01:06 AM.
    Henk
    Adventure is out there go find it