RCD 320 RDS Question





Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Age
    45
    Posts
    283
    Thanked: 17

    Default RCD 320 RDS Question

    Hi All

    Just got my new amarok 4 motion auto last week, brilliant bakkie and for me my second Amarok. I connot figure out if im confused or the new radio does not have the RDS AF function ? My old bakkie with the RCD 310, you could select the radio station you wanted and the radio would follow the station changing frequency to the best one automatically (AF function) The new RCD 320 does not have this AF function it shows the station name and song details, but by default it programmed into a frequency not the station. Im I confused or just missing something?
    2017 VW Amarok V6 DC 4 Motion Auto

    ex 2015 VW Amarok 132kw DC 4 Motion Auto
    ex 2012 VW Amarok 132kw DC 4 Motion
    ex 2010 Toyota Fortuner D4D 4x4
    ex 2007 Toyota Hilux DC 4.0 v6 4x4
    ex 2003 Colt Rodeo DC 3.0 v6 4x4

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Nelspruit
    Age
    42
    Posts
    49
    Thanked: 8

    Default

    I have the exact story as yours. I can't figure out how to set the radio to adapt to frequency changes on any given station. On my first Amarok this wasn't an issue.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Age
    45
    Posts
    283
    Thanked: 17

    Default

    Thanks Bruiser

    The more I look, the more I believe that it does not have this functionality. Hopefully someone can help and tell me that it can be done and how. The book is useless.
    2017 VW Amarok V6 DC 4 Motion Auto

    ex 2015 VW Amarok 132kw DC 4 Motion Auto
    ex 2012 VW Amarok 132kw DC 4 Motion
    ex 2010 Toyota Fortuner D4D 4x4
    ex 2007 Toyota Hilux DC 4.0 v6 4x4
    ex 2003 Colt Rodeo DC 3.0 v6 4x4

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Tzaneen
    Age
    58
    Posts
    171
    Thanked: 39

    Default

    I can also find nothing. Long distance travel you need to keep retuning radio as it does not stay on frequency. I have not had a radio that does not have this feature in years. Even the cheapie costing R600.00.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Age
    45
    Posts
    283
    Thanked: 17

    Default

    Confirmed , the RCD 320 does not have the auto frequency function. Absolutely crazy that a half million bakkie does not have this basic very useful function but an entry level polo does .....
    2017 VW Amarok V6 DC 4 Motion Auto

    ex 2015 VW Amarok 132kw DC 4 Motion Auto
    ex 2012 VW Amarok 132kw DC 4 Motion
    ex 2010 Toyota Fortuner D4D 4x4
    ex 2007 Toyota Hilux DC 4.0 v6 4x4
    ex 2003 Colt Rodeo DC 3.0 v6 4x4

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Tzaneen
    Age
    58
    Posts
    171
    Thanked: 39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Calvin PE View Post
    Confirmed , the RCD 320 does not have the auto frequency function. Absolutely crazy that a half million bakkie does not have this basic very useful function but an entry level polo does .....
    You cannot dim dashboard lights either (Although you can dim the radio display) You can though dim the dashboard display in a Polo!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Amorosa
    Age
    35
    Posts
    6,436
    Thanked: 359

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dez View Post
    You cannot dim dashboard lights either (Although you can dim the radio display) You can though dim the dashboard display in a Polo!!!!!!!!!!!

    Why do you want to do it? Dont use it on mine that can dim. Did not need it on the auto without...
    Toyota Fortuner 2.8 GD6 4x4 MT
    Bush Lapa Miskruier 586
    Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFS..._as=subscriber
    4x4 Competency - Unit Standard 254135

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Tzaneen
    Age
    58
    Posts
    171
    Thanked: 39

    Default

    Find the dash light to bright for my liking when I do long distance at night, normally put my dash as dim as possible. I only have one eye and the brightness is tiring. The most frustrating part is that it is advertised with dimmable dash and I actually appreciate it when i get what is advertised
    Last edited by Dez; 2014/12/09 at 08:13 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Windhoek
    Age
    48
    Posts
    442
    Thanked: 18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Calvin PE View Post
    Confirmed , the RCD 320 does not have the auto frequency function. Absolutely crazy that a half million bakkie does not have this basic very useful function but an entry level polo does .....
    Very strange that the previous model (RCD310) has that and not the 320

    2014 Amarok DC 4Motion Auto
    Conqueror Conquest

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    East London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    17,052
    Thanked: 2392

    Default

    Im extremely glad for dash lights dimming. My radio screen can also switch off.

    The less light in the cabin the wider your pupils, the better your night vision.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Age
    45
    Posts
    283
    Thanked: 17

    Default

    Very frustrating, I understand that the factory and VWSA are looking into the RDS on the RCD 320. I wont hold my breath .........

    I would be nice to dim the dash lights but thankfully my lightbar makes daylight outside .......
    2017 VW Amarok V6 DC 4 Motion Auto

    ex 2015 VW Amarok 132kw DC 4 Motion Auto
    ex 2012 VW Amarok 132kw DC 4 Motion
    ex 2010 Toyota Fortuner D4D 4x4
    ex 2007 Toyota Hilux DC 4.0 v6 4x4
    ex 2003 Colt Rodeo DC 3.0 v6 4x4

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Cape Town
    Age
    42
    Posts
    38
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    Calvin PE, seems you have been around the block with this Radio in your Amarok, got my vehicle on Tuesday and this radio is driving me up the wall already. My previous Amarok had the RCD 310, which except for the USB and SD Card Slot I personally think is superior.

    Used a Bury Car Kit with that one for my phone which I still have and depending might place it in my new vehicle. My Bury Kit at least had voice dialing.

    I cannot seem to use any of the Telephone features on the MFD display on my Amarok. In fact it is not even shown as an option on the MFD behind the steering wheel. Yes this might be a small little issue but scrolling thru your contacts with a radio knob is insane.

    Playing mp3's on the RCD 320 defaults to file name and not File Info which the RCD310 did. NO RDS WTF?
    2015 VW Amarok Double Cab Sand Beige 2.0 BiTdi 132KW 4 x 2 Auto

    2012 VW Amarok Double Cab Reflex Silver 2.0 BiTdi 132KW 4 x 2<s>
    </s><s
    <del></del></s

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Petoorstown
    Age
    50
    Posts
    1,213
    Thanked: 51

    Default

    Yes the RCD320 is a lesser radio imo than the RCD310...

    On the older Amaroks and RCD310 the reception is also MUCH better, according to VW the previous Amaroks have aerials on both mirrors, on the newer 15 Amarok only one aerial in the left mirror.....

    Why would Vw do that if something is not broken why change things WTF
    2018 VW Amarok V6 TDi
    2017 Toyota Prado 3.0 D4D VX

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Harrismith
    Age
    44
    Posts
    192
    Thanked: 5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMonster View Post
    Calvin PE, seems you have been around the block with this Radio in your Amarok, got my vehicle on Tuesday and this radio is driving me up the wall already. My previous Amarok had the RCD 310, which except for the USB and SD Card Slot I personally think is superior.



    Used a Bury Car Kit with that one for my phone which I still have and depending might place it in my new vehicle. My Bury Kit at least had voice dialing.



    I cannot seem to use any of the Telephone features on the MFD display on my Amarok. In fact it is not even shown as an option on the MFD behind the steering wheel. Yes this might be a small little issue but scrolling thru your contacts with a radio knob is insane.



    Playing mp3's on the RCD 320 defaults to file name and not File Info which the RCD310 did. NO RDS WTF?

    Please tell me more about the Bury Car Kit please. Could you play music from your phone through the RCD 310, or are the mp3's you referring to from a CD?
    I have the RCD 310

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Cape Town
    Age
    42
    Posts
    38
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    The Mp3's can be played of an IPod or Via bluetooth with the Bury, however it bypasses the car radio completely and only uses the speakers for output. I got it because I wanted to play stuff of my Iphone/Ipod and the RCD310 had no options for SD Card, USB or anything else.

    This: http://www.bury.com/cms/za/produkte/...cc-9068-1.html

    Seems to be the update of what I had.

    Please keep in mind my 2012 Amarok had no idea what a cell phone was so this was the only way In the end I put Mp3's on CD anyway and only used the Bury for Cell Phone Car Kit.
    2015 VW Amarok Double Cab Sand Beige 2.0 BiTdi 132KW 4 x 2 Auto

    2012 VW Amarok Double Cab Reflex Silver 2.0 BiTdi 132KW 4 x 2<s>
    </s><s
    <del></del></s

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Age
    45
    Posts
    283
    Thanked: 17

    Default

    Hi Monster

    Honestly I would be happy if the Radio had RDS, the rest I could live with but the lack of RDS gets under my skin..... I had the same Rcd 310 in my 2012 Amarok , was perfect except I wanted the convenience of an SD slot. The Rcd 320 in my opinion has gone backwards.

    My bigger problem, is all the aftermarket radio's that I have seen in Amarok's have bad radio reception so I have not found one worthwhile to replace the RCD 320 with.

    The only telephone features that work on the steering wheel controls are dial and recent calls, the rest to me you need top use the buttons of the radio which is very annoying. The MFD just shows who is calling nothing else.

    But on your last note ..... WTF not RDS .... totally agree....

    If you find a replacement radio that has the reception of the 310 please let me know .....

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMonster View Post
    Calvin PE, seems you have been around the block with this Radio in your Amarok, got my vehicle on Tuesday and this radio is driving me up the wall already. My previous Amarok had the RCD 310, which except for the USB and SD Card Slot I personally think is superior.

    Used a Bury Car Kit with that one for my phone which I still have and depending might place it in my new vehicle. My Bury Kit at least had voice dialing.

    I cannot seem to use any of the Telephone features on the MFD display on my Amarok. In fact it is not even shown as an option on the MFD behind the steering wheel. Yes this might be a small little issue but scrolling thru your contacts with a radio knob is insane.

    Playing mp3's on the RCD 320 defaults to file name and not File Info which the RCD310 did. NO RDS WTF?
    2017 VW Amarok V6 DC 4 Motion Auto

    ex 2015 VW Amarok 132kw DC 4 Motion Auto
    ex 2012 VW Amarok 132kw DC 4 Motion
    ex 2010 Toyota Fortuner D4D 4x4
    ex 2007 Toyota Hilux DC 4.0 v6 4x4
    ex 2003 Colt Rodeo DC 3.0 v6 4x4

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Age
    45
    Posts
    283
    Thanked: 17

    Default

    I parrot system connected directly to the RCD310 and it gave you a usb connection to the radio, worked perfectly.

    Quote Originally Posted by Lewies!! View Post
    Please tell me more about the Bury Car Kit please. Could you play music from your phone through the RCD 310, or are the mp3's you referring to from a CD?
    I have the RCD 310
    2017 VW Amarok V6 DC 4 Motion Auto

    ex 2015 VW Amarok 132kw DC 4 Motion Auto
    ex 2012 VW Amarok 132kw DC 4 Motion
    ex 2010 Toyota Fortuner D4D 4x4
    ex 2007 Toyota Hilux DC 4.0 v6 4x4
    ex 2003 Colt Rodeo DC 3.0 v6 4x4

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cape Town
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,222
    Thanked: 53

    Default

    I find this really strange, and you must have probably checked in the menus... but is it (the RDS auto frequency) not just switched off? Sorry for asking. With the RCD 310 you could disabled it.

    @Calvin PE - what is this "I parrot system" you're talking about?
    2013 Amarok d/c TDI 103kW 4motion

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Age
    45
    Posts
    283
    Thanked: 17

    Default

    Hi Phuma

    It is strange, checked very carefully in the hidden menu and normal menu and the RCD320 does not have the RDS auto frequency. I then discussed with VW, they agree and confirm that a bulletin has been issued regarding the problem. More than that they doing nothing. The parrot system is a hands free car kit connected to the RCD 310 radio, it has a usb connection to the radio which allowed you to play music through the radio. Cannot remember the model number but there web site should give details.
    2017 VW Amarok V6 DC 4 Motion Auto

    ex 2015 VW Amarok 132kw DC 4 Motion Auto
    ex 2012 VW Amarok 132kw DC 4 Motion
    ex 2010 Toyota Fortuner D4D 4x4
    ex 2007 Toyota Hilux DC 4.0 v6 4x4
    ex 2003 Colt Rodeo DC 3.0 v6 4x4

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cape Town
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,222
    Thanked: 53

    Default

    Calvin, that sucks greatly. I'll check on the RCD 320 I've got as soon as I install it into the Amarok. I want to use it for the bluetooth etc. functionality.

    How much is the parrot system? Model number?
    2013 Amarok d/c TDI 103kW 4motion

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2010/01/07, 09:10 AM
  2. Question for the Fundis
    By paramedicmoz in forum Land Rover
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009/10/04, 08:29 PM
  3. Another Tire Question
    By JasonG in forum Suzuki
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009/08/21, 07:26 AM
  4. Question on Dual battery system vs. battery chargers
    By Blackie in forum Vehicle & Technical Chat - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009/06/18, 08:41 AM
  5. 3" lift question
    By NO FEAR in forum Jeep
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009/04/01, 03:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •