|
Agreed.
I guess we will find out in the next few months?![]()
Seriously though, I spent a lot of time looking at the JMC and pondering exactly the same question. Will be very nice to have an objective opinion on one being used everyday in a business.
And let's be honest, it's certainly not the worst looking bakkie in SA at the moment....![]()
And that R60k saving can go a long way at the diesel pump.....
4x4 action group
www.gwm4x4club.co.za
Nissan navara (camping and family truck)
Jeep XJ (to make sure fortunes can't follow)
Triumph tiger 800 (everyday drive)
Conqueror safari trailer
Im truly hoping Manny proves us all wrong and this turns out to be an economical reliable workhorse. Rooting for the underdog, and hopefully it will make the big boys sit up and take notice .
Eish... I suppose somebody must buy them...
That said, i believe JMC use cummins designed motors, so its gonna break somewhere else..
I just hope they keep a full range of spares, thats what scares me the most.,
Nope!
The old Boarding (which I am buying) is a Chinese made Isuzu KB280 motor.
The new Vigus uses either the old Ford 2.4 diesel (as fitted to the Land Rover Puma until recently)
or the Mitsubishi 2.4 Petrol motor.
No Cummins.
You are thinking of Foton, but they do NOT use a Cummins motor - Foton asked Cummins to design a motor which is made in China by Foton...
Eish... I enquired about a 2 ton before they told me all cummins motors...
I never bought or checked..
But
Sales men are soooo honest..
Good luck, Im sure you will pull That other porras GWM outa the mud one day if you have a diff lock..
;-)
And then bring me a popeye sticker ;-)
The Cummins motor used in the Foton is built by Foton in a 50/50- JV
I put it to you, sir, that the Foton engine is more a Cummins than the JMC engine is an Isuzu.Cummins to create joint venture with Foton
(China Daily)
Updated: 2006-10-30 11:25
US-based Cummins, the world's biggest diesel engine maker, said recently it has signed a deal with Chinese truck producer Beiqi Foton Motor to create an engine joint venture in Beijing.
The two sides plan to invest a total of 2.5 billion yuan (US$316 million) in the joint venture with registered capital of 1 billion yuan (US$126 million). The two parties own 50 per cent of the facility respectively. The venture, which will start to make Cummins 2.8- and 3.8-litre diesel engines in 2008, will have an annual production capacity of 40,000 engines.![]()
Last edited by ThysleRoux; 2014/09/17 at 10:48 PM.
Funny that Isuzu does not list Fong Kong as one of their official engine plants:
Isuzu Worldwide operations
Does Isuzu still produce the 4JB1-T for their own vehicles ?
A vew years back when the market was flooded with chinese motorcycles the sales guys said it was built on a reliable Honda motor until it breaked...
2003 ISUZU 300TDI LX D/C 4x4 MET BAIE EXSTRAS
2015 JURGENS XT140 OFFROAD TRAILER WITH ALL THE BELLS AND WHISTLES
Congrats Manny.
I hope it serves you well
Currently do not own a 4x4, driving a sedan
Ex: 2013 Ford Ranger 3.2 XLT 4x4 auto
Ex: 2012 Ford Ranger 3.2 XLT 4x4 auto
Ex: 2013 Ford Ranger 2.2 XLS 2WD manual
Ex: 2009 Mazda BT50 3.0 CRDi double cab manual
Nice one Eurard![]()
2014 Pajero 3.2DiD SWB
Got it!!!
Dropped it at the Tracking guys for the SkyTrax.
Still not registered in my name though!
No mats, but they have been promised.
Nice touches:
It looks like the one in the pic, has fog lights etc.
Flooring is thick shiny Kong rubber/plastic - easy to wash.
Has that idle control like in the old KB280...EXACTLY like in the KB280.
They gave me a Big Jim Toolbox crammed with sweets & goodies.
Fong Kong items:
It has NO A/C but it has the A/C button, which lights up when you press it.
It has a door lock button that does nothing.
It has a window lock button that locks the doors, but not the windows.
The temp dial is HOT left & COLD right - opposite to most other vehicles.
I'll post pics when I gat it back from JTS Car Sound & Security...
Isuzu STD 2.5d 2x4 rear diffy lock
2x spotlight,2x fog lights
215/80/R15c tyres
1 x great humourous driver
GPS,Bluetooth
Eagle eye dash cam --stolen..bought another one
snorkel soon
Craig
I DON'T LIVE IN AFRICA,AFRICA LIVES IN ME- Kyle my son