Results 1 to 20 of 31

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edenglen
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,681
    Thanked: 898

    Question Garmap & T4A on a Nuvi

    Would an adult please explain slowly using small words.

    I have a Nuvi 350 with SA Streetmaps 1.5 on a card bought at Makro last year. I would now very much like to load T4A but apparently need mapsource on my PC to load it and transfer to the GPS. There is also an update of the Streetmaps available that I would like to load (and the topo maps would be nice). I would also like to delete the European maps that were preloaded onto the GPS because they'll never get used.

    I need the "Idiot's Guide" to what I need to buy, from who and what I need to download, from where, to achieve this. Obviously the cheapest option would be welcome, given that I need to fill up with 120l of diesel soon .
    Erin Bosch (082 342 1909)
    4xfagger no. GP0048



    2012 VW T5 2.0BiTdi 132kW 4Mot Transporter
    2005 Land Rover Discovery II TD5 Facelift

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Thornton
    Age
    59
    Posts
    428
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    Your best and only bet will be to contact Family Dog here on the forum, he is the Best ..
    Ford 2.5 2005 4x4 SCab

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Welgelgen, CT
    Age
    53
    Posts
    410
    Thanked: 2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Imvubu View Post
    Would an adult please explain slowly using small words.

    I have a Nuvi 350 with SA Streetmaps 1.5 on a card bought at Makro last year. I would now very much like to load T4A but apparently need mapsource on my PC to load it and transfer to the GPS. There is also an update of the Streetmaps available that I would like to load (and the topo maps would be nice). I would also like to delete the European maps that were preloaded onto the GPS because they'll never get used.

    I need the "Idiot's Guide" to what I need to buy, from who and what I need to download, from where, to achieve this. Obviously the cheapest option would be welcome, given that I need to fill up with 120l of diesel soon .
    You should have most of the stuff you need. With your NUVI you should get a USB cable and a disk containing MapSource and the Streetmaps 1.5 files. Plug your GPS into the USB cable and your PC and insert the disk which should install the MapSource software. It will also ask you to register your GPS/Maps with GarMap SA over the internet. Do this.
    Now you have the software you need. You can also download MapSource from http://www8.garmin.com/support/downl...ils.jsp?id=209

    Next you need to get the T4A files. You can buy the CD from most 4x4 and out door shops or you can order it from T4A. If you do not require all the map regions in Africa, you can buy the individual regions from T4A at http://www.tracks4africa.co.za/t4a_maps_pro.asp

    Secondly you need to get holf of the new
    Garmap Africa Series 2008 DVD. It seems that most have not reached the shops but you can order it from here.

    Now to upgrade from Streetmaps 1.5 to any of the new Africa Series maps, just plug in you GPS to PC, insert DVD and follow the links. You choose the maps you want, pay online with Credit Card and the mapset will be installed and activated. You can upgrade to steetmaps, or Topo & Rec, or DEM version and you pay accordingly.

    T4A's CD contains all the files and when inserted into CD-drive will install all files to the Garmin Directory.

    Now you have all the new files on your PC. Open MapSource. In the top left you have the map series that is being displayed. Using the dropdown list, you can choose other mapsets. Start with Africa Series Streetmaps as the selected mapset. Click on the Icon that looks like a scew block, (next to magnif. glass). Now if you click on the map, the grids will turn pink. These are the selected map grids that will be sent to your GPS. Once you have selected the whole area to be transferred, you can change the mapset on top left, to T4A for example, and select the grids. This will be added to your selection which you can see on the left of the screen where Maps, Routs, Waypoints and Tracks are listed.

    Once you are satisfied that you have selected all the maps, you can click on the trasfer to GPS icon (Blue arrow pointing to GPS) this will replace all the previously installed maps on the GPS. (Except the Euro maps).

    Now save the MapSource file as a name. For future use and editing. Download the MapSource manual from http://www8.garmin.com/manuals/MapSo...UsersGuide.pdf

    As far as I know, the base map (European maps) can not the uninstalled.

    Now let me see:
    Quote Originally Posted by Imvubu View Post
    Would an adult .
    Thats me (I hope)

    Quote Originally Posted by Imvubu View Post
    explain slowly
    It took me an hour to type this - very sloooowwwly

    Quote Originally Posted by Imvubu View Post
    using small words.
    Don't worry , I don't know how to spell long words in any case.

    Hope this helps. It can seem daunting but it is not difficult.
    Ettienne Myburgh

    Nissan Patrol 4.8GL OME, ARB, Drawers, 2nd Battery
    Challenger Off-road trailer with Howlin Moon tent

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Klerksdorp
    Age
    78
    Posts
    5,493
    Thanked: 1516

    Default

    Brilliant post, Etienne! I was doing something similar to a Nuvi that a chap brought in for me to look at today - even though he did not buy the Nuvi from me Think I should charge the local Hi-Corruption shops a consulting fee!

    Anyway, his pre-loaded SD card had gone vrot and stalled the whole GPS. He was told to buy a replacement GPS from another Outlet. Instead, we got hold of a new 2GB SD card and re-installed his software, the old SA Street Maps version 1. As he has plenty of space on his SD Card, I will see if he would like to upgrade to the new Africa Series DVD. Wish I had all that space available on my 276!


    -F_D
    Eric Skeen is the Family Dog
    White Fang:
    1999 2700i DC Raider 4x4
    Bull Dog: 1987 4Y-EFI 2200 DC 4x4
    Pra Dog: 1998 Prado VX 3.4 V6
    Hound Dog: 2000 2700i SC 4x4

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Welgelgen, CT
    Age
    53
    Posts
    410
    Thanked: 2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Family_Dog View Post
    Brilliant post, Etienne! I was doing something similar to a Nuvi that a chap brought in for me to look at today - even though he did not buy the Nuvi from me Think I should charge the local Hi-Corruption shops a consulting fee!

    Anyway, his pre-loaded SD card had gone vrot and stalled the whole GPS. He was told to buy a replacement GPS from another Outlet. Instead, we got hold of a new 2GB SD card and re-installed his software, the old SA Street Maps version 1. As he has plenty of space on his SD Card, I will see if he would like to upgrade to the new Africa Series DVD. Wish I had all that space available on my 276!
    -F_D
    Thanx, Eric. It seems the GPS market is full of seller but no supporters. You get a free GPS with everything from cell phones to DVD players...

    I will probable get the 512MB Garmin Data card from Amazon - I'm just keeping an eye on the exchange rate. I had to trim a lot off my grids from the March 2008 maps to fit on to the 128MB card. I do get upset if 2GB SD card costs less than halve of the 512MB Garmin Card

    Why can someone not develop a SD card adapter that looks like the Garmin card and slots onto the 276C?
    Ettienne Myburgh

    Nissan Patrol 4.8GL OME, ARB, Drawers, 2nd Battery
    Challenger Off-road trailer with Howlin Moon tent

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Klerksdorp
    Age
    78
    Posts
    5,493
    Thanked: 1516

    Default

    I do get upset if 2GB SD card costs less than halve of the 512MB Garmin Card
    Exactly what I was thinking today as well!


    I never bothered with the Topo in Africa 2008 for my 276C this time, had it previously with my SASM version 1.5 and it was handy, but in the end a bit messy and wasted too much valuable data card memory!


    -F_D
    Eric Skeen is the Family Dog
    White Fang:
    1999 2700i DC Raider 4x4
    Bull Dog: 1987 4Y-EFI 2200 DC 4x4
    Pra Dog: 1998 Prado VX 3.4 V6
    Hound Dog: 2000 2700i SC 4x4

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    PE
    Age
    60
    Posts
    213
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    ==
    Last edited by Bill Carey; 2012/03/01 at 02:29 AM.
    [

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edenglen
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,681
    Thanked: 898

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Khosaan View Post
    You should have most of the stuff you need. With your NUVI you should get a USB cable and a disk containing MapSource and the Streetmaps 1.5 files.
    My Nuvi came with the Streetmaps on an SD card and no disc. I'm guessing that I'll need to purchase / download the mapsource software from scratch.
    Erin Bosch (082 342 1909)
    4xfagger no. GP0048



    2012 VW T5 2.0BiTdi 132kW 4Mot Transporter
    2005 Land Rover Discovery II TD5 Facelift

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Southampton
    Age
    53
    Posts
    11,400
    Thanked: 286

    Default

    Imvubu

    Just buy the DVD with all the maps and software from your Cape Union Mart or equivalent for R50. Then you have everything you need and a backup in case your SD card goes belly up.

    Personally I cannot understand why anyone buys a GPS with preloaded maps on an SD card. Doing that you have no flexibility whatsoever. Rather ask the dealer for the maps on DVD and get a separate SD card.
    Last edited by SimonB; 2008/05/08 at 10:59 AM.
    Carpe Diem Scrotum
    Give a man a beer, waste an hour. Teach a man to brew, and waste a lifetime!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edenglen
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,681
    Thanked: 898

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SimonB View Post
    Personally I cannot understand why anyone buys a GPS with preloaded maps on an SD card.
    'Cause the bloke advertising the specials at Makro was very convincing and I'm a sucker
    Erin Bosch (082 342 1909)
    4xfagger no. GP0048



    2012 VW T5 2.0BiTdi 132kW 4Mot Transporter
    2005 Land Rover Discovery II TD5 Facelift

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Klerksdorp
    Age
    78
    Posts
    5,493
    Thanked: 1516

    Default

    Avnic changed their policy in this regard. They used to supply the CD/DVD along with the units, but stopped doing this a year or so back for the GPS's that have pre-loaded software on a SD card. It is a bit of a pain.

    Imvubu, rather buy the Africa Series 2008 DVD from your local Dealer, costs R99 and has everything you will need.


    -F_D
    Eric Skeen is the Family Dog
    White Fang:
    1999 2700i DC Raider 4x4
    Bull Dog: 1987 4Y-EFI 2200 DC 4x4
    Pra Dog: 1998 Prado VX 3.4 V6
    Hound Dog: 2000 2700i SC 4x4

  12. #12
    TurboTourer Guest

    Default T4A Mapset + Nuvi

    Hi there,

    You actually need MapInstall, to load those maps to your Nuvi. You can download that app. off the GARMAP website. MapSource is cool, but it's used to mainly look at the maps(and auto route,etc.) on your PC.
    I've downloaded the demo T4A map for Kruger Nat. Park and loaded it to my GPSr and Mapsource on my laptop - it looks good, but unfortunately this map is not routable.
    The T4A websites list quite a few maps that are routable, and they even sell a cd with all their available mapsets.
    I'm thinking of buying this, but am not sure how well these maps work on the Garmin Nuvi - does anyone out ther have any experience?
    I also downloaded the Eastern Cape Wild Coast T4A map to my GPSr, but my GARMAP SAS March 2008 mapset always took precedent over this T4A map - I was hoping that they superimposed on each other, but this was not the case. I had to disable my SAS mapset to look at the T4A one.
    Is there a way to see all your loaded mapsets simultaneously on your GPSr?
    I will also post some of these questions on the GARMAP forum, but I get the feeling that they are not as Off-road bias as you guys, and also T4A is a GARMAP competitor, so I'm not so sure how help this will be.

    Thanks,

Similar Threads

  1. Garmap and T4A on Android?
    By George in forum Tracks4Africa ONLY
    Replies: 105
    Last Post: 2013/08/12, 10:29 AM
  2. Help with using T4A on PC and also T4A on Nuvi 710C
    By Trevor_Mathews in forum GPS & Mapping
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2011/07/12, 10:47 PM
  3. T4A on Nuvi 200
    By PierredW in forum GPS & Mapping
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008/09/10, 03:25 PM
  4. NUVI and T4A
    By Ryan in forum GPS & Mapping
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: 2007/07/17, 04:08 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may post attachments
  • You may edit your posts
  •