T4A on the Toyoya Nav system?





Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Buccleuch
    Age
    64
    Posts
    83
    Thanked: 1

    Question T4A on the Toyoya Nav system?

    Any sign of some T4A maps on the Toyota Prado Navigation system, seems strange that a serious 4X4 would have a nav system that dosen't work in the bush.

    About to leave for the Central Kalahari

    Arthur

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Hartenbos
    Age
    45
    Posts
    319
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    under correction here but as far as i know only garmin support T4A, not sure why vehicle manufacturers doesn't use garmin for instance, could have a stqndard box plugging in to all systems, easy to replace, upgrade etc, you could actually unplug it and do your updates via your pc as with a handheld.
    1992 Toyota Land Cruiser 80, S/W GX 4500 Manual
    1994 Toyota Camry 2.2 SEi
    2012 Hyundai Santa Fe 3.5 awd
    Montero (Pajero) Sport 3.5 (usa)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Pniel
    Age
    31
    Posts
    286
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    Hi Arthur,

    Please note that Tracks4Africa iGo SD Cards is only compatible with Caska in-car entertainment systems and not with factory fitted units. It has been tested on models 0401E and CN136. The T4A iGo Primo SD card works with the model CN138 and the T4A iGo 8 SD Card works with the models CN136 & 0401E. Our iGo SD Cards can also be compatible with an in-car unit that uses Windows CE Operating system but we have to test it first, as we are not sure if our iGo SD Cards will work with these units.

    Mandy
    T4A

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Buccleuch
    Age
    64
    Posts
    83
    Thanked: 1

    Default

    Thanks, Mandy I know this, I just can't fathom why "Toyota" (the CEO) doesn't see the problem! As I did last time I will be running my Garmin nuvi 200 just above the Toyota Nav system which will be showing a blank screen, looks very funny but it really is quite sad.

    Why don't you work with them, the T4A maps would be a fantastic add-on to their current offering!

    We have your I-Pad offering ready to go into the Central Kalahari in December so we will put it through it paces as well.

    Arthur

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Paarl
    Age
    47
    Posts
    317
    Thanked: 42

    Default

    Believe me, we would love to work with all vehicle manufacturers but it is not as simple as calling up the CEO...

    There are a few things in the pipeline but nothing I can announce at this stage. We know that the local sales force of most manufacturers are aware of the requirement from customers, but the decision on which 'part' goes into a vehicle is often not made locally.

    You can also appreciate that if a vehicle manufacturer includes a particular part or in this case, map, they are responsible for its use and all sorts of liability issues needs to be taken care of. Even more so when you publish remote tracks.
    Johann Groenewald
    Tracks4Africa

    www.tracks4africa.co.za
    For friendly support staff, call +27 (0)21 880 8660

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Buccleuch
    Age
    64
    Posts
    83
    Thanked: 1

    Default

    Hi Groenie, any progress yet, I am about to head out again, this time to the Kalagadi, still without any usable maps on the Toyota navigation system. It's really a shocker!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Buccleuch
    Age
    64
    Posts
    83
    Thanked: 1

    Default

    Groenie, Any advance on your previous responses!

    Its that time of the year again, this time we are planning a trip to Mabuasehube in December 2015 and still hoping to navigate with the built-in Toyota Prado nav system (not holding my breath).

    If nothing else transpires I might just give the android version a go to compete for place above the blank screen, I don't find the I-Pad version that easy to use.

    Regards
    Arthur
    Last edited by ajpscp; 2015/07/14 at 09:21 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Paarl
    Age
    47
    Posts
    317
    Thanked: 42

    Default

    Sorry Arthur, no news on this yet.

    Kind Regards
    Johann Groenewald
    Tracks4Africa

    www.tracks4africa.co.za
    For friendly support staff, call +27 (0)21 880 8660

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Louis Trichardt, Limpopo
    Age
    51
    Posts
    1,202
    Thanked: 285

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Groenie View Post
    Believe me, we would love to work with all vehicle manufacturers but it is not as simple as calling up the CEO...

    There are a few things in the pipeline but nothing I can announce at this stage. We know that the local sales force of most manufacturers are aware of the requirement from customers, but the decision on which 'part' goes into a vehicle is often not made locally.

    You can also appreciate that if a vehicle manufacturer includes a particular part or in this case, map, they are responsible for its use and all sorts of liability issues needs to be taken care of. Even more so when you publish remote tracks.

    I think the issue is more of compatibility than having the loaded tracks maps as a standard issue.
    If the system is compatible with loading your own maps via a USB or other type memory card/stick, the onus is on the owner not the manufacturer for offering the option to use it or not.

    I also think it rather very stooopid that there is a "maps" button on my Hilux radio but it means absolutely buggerall to me.

    JAAAAA Boet!!
    '13 Toyota Hilux 4x4 XCab

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Cape Town
    Age
    38
    Posts
    5
    Thanked: 0

    Default Re: T4A on the Toyoya Nav system?

    Hi guys
    I would imagine there is no hope for me with my merc G-Class' Navigation system in that case? Ie also very keen to use t4a as I also have it on my R1200GS motorcycle but I guess it is because BMW uses the GarminNavigator as the base for their GPS for these motorcycles?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Buccleuch
    Age
    64
    Posts
    83
    Thanked: 1

    Default Re: T4A on the Toyoya Nav system?

    Haha, just for old times sake!

    We did a tour of Namibia earlier in the year, much to the amusement of all I was running the T4A on an ipad strategically placed on the console covering the dysfunctional Toyota navigation system. Truth be told the T4A solution on the ipad and on iphone performed excellently, especially when we went off-road through a canyon so far off the beaten track that only "T4A" could see the track's!

    Planning to go up to Bots (Moremi and Nxai Pan) in December, will again rely on the "Apple" upgrade to find our way.

    Regards
    Arthur
    Last edited by ajpscp; 2016/09/28 at 10:13 PM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Shelley Point
    Age
    58
    Posts
    224
    Thanked: 31

    Default Re: T4A on the Toyoya Nav system?

    So now it is 2019, any news on the intergration of T4A on the new Hilux nav system

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Shelley Point
    Age
    58
    Posts
    224
    Thanked: 31

    Default Re: T4A on the Toyoya Nav system?

    Quote Originally Posted by Groenie View Post
    Sorry Arthur, no news on this yet.

    Kind Regards

    When will we see a option to load T4A on new Hilux Nav system?

Similar Threads

  1. Maps for VW Touareg Nav. System
    By BMTZ in forum GPS & Mapping
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2014/02/28, 01:36 PM
  2. Dnx5360 kenwood garmin in car nav system
    By Wilnix in forum GPS & Mapping
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2013/08/07, 04:16 PM
  3. A Quick few notes on Kenya: November 2010
    By freeflyd in forum Kenya
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010/12/22, 03:43 PM
  4. Grand Cherokee Error code
    By Nick47 in forum Jeep
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010/08/30, 01:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •