Self drive advice Arusha

Smile Self drive advice Arusha

We have a week to explore the area west of Arusha in August next year. Our plan is to hire a vehicle and camp/lodge away from the crowds if possible. We have been to Bots and Zambia before so are not complete novices. We have to meet our daughter in Moshi to catch a flight connection, so timing is important. We would rather spend more time in one area than chase round after "sightings"

Fergies from Scotland

Quote Originally Posted by Fergie View Post
    We have a week to explore the area west of Arusha in August next year. Our plan is to hire a vehicle and camp/lodge away from the crowds if possible. We have been to Bots and Zambia before so are not complete novices. We have to meet our daughter in Moshi to catch a flight connection, so timing is important. We would rather spend more time in one area than chase round after "sightings"

Fergies from Scotland
    All I can say is do Tarangire national park. Might be a bit early as I believe September, October is the best time

You can find your own space anywhere. For example parts of the Serengeti are heaving in August (namely anywhere up along the western corridor where visitors are hoping to catch an elusive river crossing). Seronera is always fairly busy as it's where the majority of budget/mid range safari operators go.

However, if you book yourselves into a couple of "special" ie private campsites (not much more expensive than public ones but reserved for your exclusive use) then you might well not see another car. Get a Veronica Roodt map, choose your sites and book in advance.

There are similar campsites in all the parks. Well worth the extra $20 a night to fall asleep to the sounds of the bush rather than your fellow campers.

Thanks for your advice, would it work with a few days split between Tarangire and around Seronera. Not sure if we want to visit the crater area or are we foolish to give this a miss and save for another day.

Fergies