Van Zyl's in retrospect

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Default Van Zyl's in retrospect

Liz and I have been travelling Namibia for twenty years, but as we invariably travel alone, we had never attempted Van Zyl’s, until last week. Some good friends had invited us to join them on a trip, which would include Van Zyl’s, and we were to be in four cars, two Defenders (our Tdi and a Puma), a Toyota Prado and a Mitsu Pajero. The Prado and Pajero were both aged automatics, fueled by petrol and were heavily loaded. These are my initial thoughts on that experience. I must emphasize that this year there had been no rain, so the road had not been washed out. However, we still had to do a lot of road building. Next year could be totally different story.

Planning is everything. The Pajero used far more fuel than anticipated and if we hadn’t been able to find some petrol in Okangwati, the car would still be out there. The petrol cost N$16 per litre and was syphoned out of old drums in the back of a shack – I think we took nearly all they had and it was not filtered.
    The road from Okangwati to the campsite is mostly OK, but there are a couple of obscure right hand forks in the sand track, both of which we missed and had to retrace our steps for short distances. Convoy rules are important in these situations, and here we messed up badly. The Pajero became separated, took a wrong road and, more by luck than judgment, found the camp in the dark, but only by going off road and following his GPS through the bush. It could have been a major drama, because we would never have found them if they had got stuck. We all arrived at the campsite in the dark, it was deserted and we couldn’t find the toilets etc, so made camp by the “office”. The camp guys came in the morning, turned on the water and showed us where the actual campsites are. They are very good and I wish we had found them.