Default Roadworthy Advice (Series II windscreen)

I've been driving my Series II everyday for 5 years with an up to date license every year.

I went to renew a few weeks ago only to be told I need to have the old boy road worthied again.

Everything has passed except for the windows... They are all regular glass, not shatterproof and SABS approved, which is really dangerous!!!

National Auto Glass and PG Glass don't really know how to help me. They can only cut Shatterproof glass to fit but that apparently won't pass on the windscreen

I don't have a traditional Series split windscreen, but I'm not sure a Defender windscreen would fit.

Does anyone know what I can do? or who I could speak to?

I'm leaving for Mozambique in 3 weeks and need the license renewed!!!

Thanks a lot!!!
    Last edited by Wimpy Hightop; 2013/05/09 at 05:38 PM.

2008 Defender Puma 2.4
    1963 Series IIA

Would laminated glass suffice or is that the same as Shatterproof?

Apparently it needs the SABS "e" stamp of approval on it?
    How do I get that?

2008 Defender Puma 2.4
    1963 Series IIA

i would suggust going to a different location for roadworthy. my windows are not sabs approved as i doubt it existed when the glass was made. sounds like they are hoping you miss the 10 day free retest and have to pay them a second time.. i would rather go someplace else and pay. when i had my checked last year they never looked at the glass or anything.
    Luke aka Jedi

1954 Landy Rover Series 1 86"- Rambling Rose
    Best company slogan: Cherrybomb performance exhaust, Disturbing the peace since 1968

I also thought it was a weird request. I do totally understand that for safety reasons it should maybe be shatterproof, so maybe I'll fit that and take it somewhere else.

2008 Defender Puma 2.4
    1963 Series IIA

Hi. On older cars with flat windscreens, it doesn't have to be shatterprufe, but does have to be laminated.