Is the XTrail a good buy?

Thumbs up Is the XTrail a good buy?

Hi 4x4 Community

I'm relatively new to the 4x4 realm; about to be rid of my Toyota Yaris and step into days of manhood by purchasing a larger vehicle. I'll be living in Cape Town, and so am looking for something that will suit a multi faceted life (which seems to be the xtrail's selling point), be able to tow comfortably, as well as fit into small Capetonian parking spaces. The Xtrail seems to fit the bill perfectly, but I thought a good idea to get the advise of the experts before going and spending a fortune.

I'm looking at the 2.5 Petrol 4x4 M/T SE, but I hear that Diesel will be a lot better with regard to fuel consumption. Also, I hear that perhaps getting a 4x2 may be worth it, in terms of saving cash and not losing too much power.

Many thanks
    Devon

Basically, I want xtrail owners to let me know if they are happy with their buy, is it a car I could own for the next 5/6 years? I seems, from some posts here, that there are often battery issues with the xtrail, that it often just loses power and all the fancy electronics just shut down?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

The Xtrail IS a nice vehicle. Check what your precise specifications for use are and then decide.

I will give the diesel X-trail a +1 before the petrol. Diesel tows like a dream.

with the 4x4 you will be able to do some sand driving etc...

I had the 2.5 petrol 4x4. gt the 4x4 as it opens up so many more possibilities. I eventually sold mine because I wanted a proper 4x4 with low range and bought a fortuner (2nd hand).

the main drawback with the X-Trail is that it is not a proper 4x4, but that may not be a problem for you. and it is EXPENSIVE to maintain and repair if something goes wrong. things like shocks, clutches and so on are only available from Nissan at a large price tag. I realised this soon after I got my fortuner - MUCH cheaper.