Caravan towing - which gear

Default Caravan towing - which gear

Hi,

I searched the forum but could not find any information regarding this subject, I am towing a caravan 1200kg loaded. I am curently using 5th gear on even roads and switch to 4th gear on inclines. Some of the forums state that you will damage the gearbox if you tow in 5th gear is this also the case with the Disco2 Td5 or is it acceptable (will not damage the gearbox) if you tow in 5th gear?

Thank you
    Hugo
    99 TD5 DiscoII
    Conqueror Commander

Do not tow in 5th on the torque band. Change gears from 5th to 4th as soon as you near the 2000 rev mark. Maybe even earlier. I ran my 5th gear over Christmas and it cost me R4000 to repair. Fortunately the bearing did not disintegrate or it could have cost a lot more!

I have been towing my Jurgen Exclusive (1800kg) for three years now and apparently it has been an accumulation of the abuse of not using the lower gears earlier when approaching an incline. I found it easy to tow between 90 and 100kmh in 5th and this is what caused the problem. Some workshops will tell you not even to use 5th at any stage when towing.
    I Own the Best 4x4s by Far<br><br>Defender TD5 CSW <br>Discovery 4 SDV6 HSE<br>Sprite Tourer SP

Hi Henry

Thank you for the reply. I am a bit new, when you say "Do not tow in 5th on the torque band" is this from 1750 rpm upwards to around 3000 rpm?

I suppose you towed with the Defender, does it also have the R380 gearbox?

The Jurgens Exclusive is almost 700kg heavier than the Commander will that reduce my risk of damaging the gearbox? (and I believe the wind resistance of the commander is also much less as it is much smaller than the Jurgens, not much bigger than the Disco)