Forum Geocaching? - Page 3




Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 212
  1. #41
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Garsfontein, Pretoria
    Age
    59
    Posts
    891
    Thanked: 7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ralton View Post
    That's funny - it reminds me of the time i was searching for the "twinstreams" cache up the KZN coast, scratching around in the bush, when a branch bumped my specs off... i couldn't find my specs or the cache after that...
    Hehehe!!! I had almost the same experience!!! We did the walking trail at Walter Sisulu Botanical Gardens which has quite a steep climb. Right at the top I reached for my glasses to log a cache... nothing!!!, so we had to back-track halfway down the mountain just to find it at the previous cache were we had a rest under a nearby tree. SWAMBO found it! So back up the mountain we went to get one more cache and complete the route. I was "kis" after that!!! I'm sure most cachers have a stories like these to tell. Luckily we haven't come accross any snakes!!
    '02 Toyota Prado 3.0 td VX, SAC intercooler, Kumho KL78 A/T's. DIY roofrack and rack system.
    "Good judgement come from experience, experience come from bad judgement"

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Vereeniging/Okpo/Houston
    Age
    53
    Posts
    388
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    Vansubsea, beplan jy om die Mega in Okt by te woon?
    Ek wens ek kon! Ongelukkig oorsee daardie tyd.

    Ek wil nog daar rond in die Vaaldriehoek kom cache
    As jy duerkom Vaaldriehoek toe laat my weet en ons kan so bietjie help.! Die caches in die Eco park by Vaalpark is redelik baie so jy kan sommer baie kry op een dag. ONs is in die gelukkige bootjie om iemand soos ANTRON by ons te he was sekerlik die beste caches maak en uitsit. Jy sal sy caches baie geniet.
    A question to all the cachers out there. How do you plan your caching?
    it will be interesting to know.
    I use a program called GSAK. I'm a premier member so I can download all the caches as pocket queries. I then use GSAK to do my planning before I go out to cache. With the interface between GSAK and the Montana caching is a pleasure
    Last edited by Vansubsea; 2012/08/08 at 08:22 AM.
    Quintus van der Merwe
    Vereeniging, SA
    2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara 2.8 diesel
    2013 Ford Ranger 3.2 XLT 4x4 6AT Diesel
    1966 Jeep Gladiator 5.7L V8 Chevi Auto
    1953 JeepCJ3B

  3. #43
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Birchleigh (Kempton)
    Age
    41
    Posts
    295
    Thanked: 2

    Default

    Lyk my ons sal plan moet maak om daar in die Vaaluit moet kom
    Tobias de V. Jansen van Noordwyk



    It is not the mountain we conquer but ourselves

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Vereeniging/Okpo/Houston
    Age
    53
    Posts
    388
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    Yes it is worth a visit.
    From the blockhouse on the R59 onwards are a few nice ones. Then the eco park has many.
    The following four is a must.
    Not Forgotten - http://www.geocaching.com/seek/cache...4-5e1a81af1436 This cache is special. It will put tears in your eyes!
    Push & Pull - http://www.geocaching.com/seek/cache...1-20cb6cd37b85
    OnorOff - http://www.geocaching.com/seek/cache...f-78d097512a1f
    D&D - http://www.geocaching.com/seek/cache...a-371c6705a072
    In fact you can do all of Antrons caches. If you have GSAK (free to download) just search for ANTRON and you will find all his caches. If you don't have GSAK PM me and I will send you the GPX file with all the caches in the Vaal.
    My caches are under my geocaching name of geocacher_coza. I have one at Basslake. You can go and do the 4x4 trail there and cache at the same time.
    Basslake - http://www.geocaching.com/seek/cache...9-7ed759376ec5

    Enjoy the hunt!
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Vansubsea; 2012/08/08 at 11:40 AM.
    Quintus van der Merwe
    Vereeniging, SA
    2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara 2.8 diesel
    2013 Ford Ranger 3.2 XLT 4x4 6AT Diesel
    1966 Jeep Gladiator 5.7L V8 Chevi Auto
    1953 JeepCJ3B

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Garsfontein, Pretoria
    Age
    59
    Posts
    891
    Thanked: 7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ralton View Post
    That's funny - it reminds me of the time i was searching for the "twinstreams" cache up the KZN coast, scratching around in the bush, when a branch bumped my specs off... i couldn't find my specs or the cache after that...
    Hehehe!!! I had a similar experience!!! We did the walking trail at Walter Sisulu Botanical Gardens which has quite a steep climb. Right at the top I reached for my glasses to log a cache... nothing!!!, so we had to backtrack halfway down the mountain just to find it at the previous cache were we had a rest under a nearby tree. SWAMBO found it! So back up the mountain we went to get the last cache and complete the route. I was "kis" after that!!! I'm sure most cachers have similar stories like these to tell. Luckily we haven't come accross any snakes yet!!!

    Quintus,
    ek het ook Premium membership maar ek het nou die dag my dingesw af gesukkel om 'n roete te skep vir 'n pocket query. Die pad naby Magoebaskloof wat ek in Sept wil doen het baie afdraai paadjies waar ek wil ry maar elke keer spring hy na 'n ander roete. Toe los ek dit maar. Wat ek gewoonlik maar doen is ek gaan deur die roete kyk na al die caches, as daar een is met meer as een DNF gee ek hom 'n mis. Dan "send to GPS" ek al die wat ek wil doen. As dit baie caches is maak ek 'n nota op my BB van die volgorde wat ek hulle wil doen, veral as die paaie weer so naby aan mekaar "loops" maak en draai anders backtrack 'n ou partymaal. As ek kleiner areas met baie caches doen soos Groenkloof, Ezemvelo of Hennops, plot ek eers al die caches op Google Earth en druk dit dan op A3 in kleur uit, dis dan sommer my kaart ook. Andersins kyk ek miskien vir allerdaagse caches op my BB se Cache Sense app en sit dan die koordinate in op die Dakota. Die probleem is net jy kan hulle nie op jou GPS log en agterna aflaai nie, so jy moet maar onthou watter het jy alles die dag gedoen.
    '02 Toyota Prado 3.0 td VX, SAC intercooler, Kumho KL78 A/T's. DIY roofrack and rack system.
    "Good judgement come from experience, experience come from bad judgement"

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Vereeniging/Okpo/Houston
    Age
    53
    Posts
    388
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    Werner
    Ek het gevind as ek 'n route wil skep gebruik ek so veel as moontlik punte. Met anderwoorde ek zoom in nogal baie en sit die route punte in redelik naby mekaar. Dit maak dat Mapsource amper nie kan "autoroute" nie. Ek weet dis 'n pyn maar ook as daar meer punte is kry jy beter resultate.
    Quintus van der Merwe
    Vereeniging, SA
    2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara 2.8 diesel
    2013 Ford Ranger 3.2 XLT 4x4 6AT Diesel
    1966 Jeep Gladiator 5.7L V8 Chevi Auto
    1953 JeepCJ3B

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Garsfontein, Pretoria
    Age
    59
    Posts
    891
    Thanked: 7

    Default

    Ek sal bietjie probeer, miskien het ek nie genoeg ingezoem nie want as ek die een punt kliek en dan die volgende een vat hy die vorige een weg en autoroute soos jy se. Ek moet maar weer probeer anders gebruik ek nie juis my premier membership ten volle nie.
    Thanks
    '02 Toyota Prado 3.0 td VX, SAC intercooler, Kumho KL78 A/T's. DIY roofrack and rack system.
    "Good judgement come from experience, experience come from bad judgement"

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    BRAKPAN
    Age
    41
    Posts
    523
    Thanked: 17

    Default

    what apps is the most popular for android?
    which websites does forum members use?
    there are so many to choose from, and there must be some that shares info.
    I am new to this and would like to start in the right direction.

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Age
    44
    Posts
    67
    Thanked: 4

    Default

    C:geo is a great free app that is fully featured, I use it all the time

    Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Vereeniging/Okpo/Houston
    Age
    53
    Posts
    388
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    I use GDAK. If you have GSAK the database interfaces nicely. Good for offline caching.
    I at first struggled to get the data base across to GDAK. Here is the explination how it is done---

    You can use the GDAK app for offline geocaching. This app uses databases created by the Geocaching Swiss Army Knife (GSAK) program, so you will also need to have GSAK installed on your PC (http://gsak.net) and create one or more databases before using GDAK.
    To use GDAK, just use Windows Explorer to copy your GSAK database folder to the subfolder named GDAK on your Android's SD card. If you have more than one GSAK database you can copy one or more database folders. Each folder you copy will be available in GDAK.
    The GDAK folder is created when you install the GDAK app on your Android. GDAK will use the copied database folders for your offline caching. (To find the location of your GSAK database folders, go to the "Tools" menu in GSAK and select "GSAK Folder Finder", then select "Databases" from the dropdown, then click the "Show" button.)
    Once you’ve copied the folders, GDAK is ready to go!
    For more information look at
    http://wolojoli.woelmuis.nl
    Last edited by Vansubsea; 2012/08/15 at 11:37 AM.
    Quintus van der Merwe
    Vereeniging, SA
    2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara 2.8 diesel
    2013 Ford Ranger 3.2 XLT 4x4 6AT Diesel
    1966 Jeep Gladiator 5.7L V8 Chevi Auto
    1953 JeepCJ3B

  11. #51
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bloemfontein
    Age
    37
    Posts
    6,398
    Thanked: 159

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vansubsea View Post
    IMHO a phone or tab GPS is not very accurate.
    It obviously depends on how accurate and with what the co-ords was taken innitially, but I found that my BB is more accurate than my nuvi some times.
    2011 Fortuner 3.0 D-4D 4x4
    2008 Lexus IS250
    Jaco



  12. #52
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Vereeniging/Okpo/Houston
    Age
    53
    Posts
    388
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    It obviously depends on how accurate and with what the co-ords was taken innitially, but I found that my BB is more accurate than my nuvi some times.
    Does not matter with what the coordinates was taken with. Your GPS will search for the coordinates that has been entered, even it is is correct or not You can do nothing about the coordinates when someone has used a inaccurate GPS and did not post the correct or accurate coordinates BUT you can do something to get better accuracy when you seaching, I'm talking of getting you to the coordinates that is entered and what is should be searching for. My cellphone only get about 30m accuracy, where my Montana get a 2m accuracy. Phone or Tab and I think Nuvi as well, do not have WAAS/EGNOS correction. With WAAS/EGNOS correction enabled you get much better accuracy. EGNOS is now available in Southern Africa. Below is a quote from a GPS website.
    Automotive GPS units won't see any benefit to having WAAS enabled since these units are automatically set to lock-on-road. Any additional increase in positional accuracy gained by using WAAS will be negated by lock-to-road.
    The units that will gain from WAAS are aviation units, marine units and hand-held units used for geocaching where lock-to-road is not used nor needed.
    If you read the geocaching forums it is generally excepted that the automotive style GPS like the nuvi is not as accurate as more "specialized" outdoor GPS's like the Montana, Colorado and Etrex.
    I would put a Nuvi in about the same class that a BB and other similar GPS devises.
    Believe me, once you have cached with a Colorado or Montana you will be amazed on how accurate a GPS can be.
    Last edited by Vansubsea; 2012/08/15 at 01:29 PM.
    Quintus van der Merwe
    Vereeniging, SA
    2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara 2.8 diesel
    2013 Ford Ranger 3.2 XLT 4x4 6AT Diesel
    1966 Jeep Gladiator 5.7L V8 Chevi Auto
    1953 JeepCJ3B

  13. #53
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Garsfontein, Pretoria
    Age
    59
    Posts
    891
    Thanked: 7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marcus d90 View Post
    what apps is the most popular for android?
    which websites does forum members use?
    there are so many to choose from, and there must be some that shares info.
    I am new to this and would like to start in the right direction.
    Hi Marcus
    Geocache Navigator is a popular app, I think it cost around R90 but you can download a trial version of most apps. It did not work on my BB 9300 so I downloaded CacheSense for $10 which works quite well. It looks like some apps just don't work on some phone or better on other. Try Geocache Navigator, as far as I know it works well on Android.
    I use the www.geocaching.com website from Goundspeak, it is by far the most popular site. Garmin also have one but most of the caches on that site you can also find on the Grounspeak site. You can register for free and start caching, if you like it it's worth becoming a premium member because it gives you lots of extras that makes caching easier.
    It'a lot of fun and also a family hobby, kids love to see what is in the cache container and then to trade some of the goodies.
    Hope it helps
    '02 Toyota Prado 3.0 td VX, SAC intercooler, Kumho KL78 A/T's. DIY roofrack and rack system.
    "Good judgement come from experience, experience come from bad judgement"

  14. #54
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    BRAKPAN
    Age
    41
    Posts
    523
    Thanked: 17

    Default

    thanks for the advice, I joined geocaching.com and installed GDAK,
    I use a galaxy 8.9 , I also have a nuvi200 and tomtom 650live , can the last two
    cache? both of these can have coordinates input. I have a BB as well, navigation not so hot on BB.

  15. #55
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Age
    53
    Posts
    451
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vansubsea View Post
    Does not matter with what the coordinates was taken with. Your GPS will search for the coordinates that has been entered, even it is is correct or not You can do nothing about the coordinates when someone has used a inaccurate GPS and did not post the correct or accurate coordinates BUT you can do something to get better accuracy when you seaching, I'm talking of getting you to the coordinates that is entered and what is should be searching for. My cellphone only get about 30m accuracy, where my Montana get a 2m accuracy. Phone or Tab and I think Nuvi as well, do not have WAAS/EGNOS correction. With WAAS/EGNOS correction enabled you get much better accuracy. EGNOS is now available in Southern Africa. Below is a quote from a GPS website.


    If you read the geocaching forums it is generally excepted that the automotive style GPS like the nuvi is not as accurate as more "specialized" outdoor GPS's like the Montana, Colorado and Etrex.
    I would put a Nuvi in about the same class that a BB and other similar GPS devises.
    Believe me, once you have cached with a Colorado or Montana you will be amazed on how accurate a GPS can be.
    Some cellphones don't have a proper GPS, rather using triangulation between cell towers. Those are sometimes referred to as A-GPS, and are only accurate to 1 block. If you have a proper gps in your phone or tablet, the accuracy should be sub 5m. Typically 2-3m. A stand alone gps with WAAS/EGNOS will be more accurate and more consistent.

    It is important to remember that local conditions can compromise your accuracy due to masking or multipath.
    Todd
    D4 V8 HSE

  16. #56
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Garsfontein, Pretoria
    Age
    59
    Posts
    891
    Thanked: 7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marcus d90 View Post
    thanks for the advice, I joined geocaching.com and installed GDAK,
    I use a galaxy 8.9 , I also have a nuvi200 and tomtom 650live , can the last two
    cache? both of these can have coordinates input. I have a BB as well, navigation not so hot on BB.
    Marcus
    I cached with my nuvi 200 and with SWAMBO's 205 for along time, they were very acurate, you obviously just have to set it on "pedestrian" when you get close to the cache and stop driving. You can also "send to GPS" from the website (if you have a USB cable) and the co-ords and GC code is automatically on your GPS. You just have to install Garmin communicator on your PC. A cheep compass helps with these devices because they only tell you a cache is say 500m NW so it helps to get proper direction in the veld sometimes.
    '02 Toyota Prado 3.0 td VX, SAC intercooler, Kumho KL78 A/T's. DIY roofrack and rack system.
    "Good judgement come from experience, experience come from bad judgement"

  17. #57
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bloemfontein
    Age
    37
    Posts
    6,398
    Thanked: 159

    Default

    I'm very happy with cachesense
    2011 Fortuner 3.0 D-4D 4x4
    2008 Lexus IS250
    Jaco



  18. #58
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Garsfontein, Pretoria
    Age
    59
    Posts
    891
    Thanked: 7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Todd View Post
    Some cellphones don't have a proper GPS, rather using triangulation between cell towers. Those are sometimes referred to as A-GPS, and are only accurate to 1 block. If you have a proper gps in your phone or tablet, the accuracy should be sub 5m. Typically 2-3m. A stand alone gps with WAAS/EGNOS will be more accurate and more consistent.

    It is important to remember that local conditions can compromise your accuracy due to masking or multipath.
    I think sometimes when people hide caches they don't check on the accuracy of their devices when hiding the cache, maybe overcast conditions or tree canopies. My Dakota give you a accuracy reading but for eg a Nuvi 200 don't. Then people are basically off with their co-ords from the outset.
    We once looked for 2 caches on the hill at Fearie Glen walking trail and could not find any of the 2, a week or so later we came back and went almost straight to the spot with the same GPS's (Nuvi 200 & 205), weather condition was more or less the same. It was almost 30 meters from where we looked the first time. Is that the masking or multipath you are talking about or why does this happen. Someone once told me that the US army who basically run the satelites can at any time set co-ord off by as much as 10 meters. Don't know how much truth there is in it.
    '02 Toyota Prado 3.0 td VX, SAC intercooler, Kumho KL78 A/T's. DIY roofrack and rack system.
    "Good judgement come from experience, experience come from bad judgement"

  19. #59
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Centurion
    Age
    43
    Posts
    769
    Thanked: 3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WernerS View Post
    ...Someone once told me that the US army who basically run the satelites can at any time set co-ord off by as much as 10 meters. Don't know how much truth there is in it.
    I am sure they can but what will that do to other users of these signals like air traffic.

    Regards,
    Derick
    Toyota Hilux D4D Dual Battery, Long Range Tank, OME
    Echo 4
    Garmin 60CSx, Montana 600, Nuvi 3760LT
    GME GX300 29MHz

  20. #60
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Age
    53
    Posts
    451
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WernerS View Post
    I think sometimes when people hide caches they don't check on the accuracy of their devices when hiding the cache, maybe overcast conditions or tree canopies. My Dakota give you a accuracy reading but for eg a Nuvi 200 don't. Then people are basically off with their co-ords from the outset.
    We once looked for 2 caches on the hill at Fearie Glen walking trail and could not find any of the 2, a week or so later we came back and went almost straight to the spot with the same GPS's (Nuvi 200 & 205), weather condition was more or less the same. It was almost 30 meters from where we looked the first time. Is that the masking or multipath you are talking about or why does this happen. Someone once told me that the US army who basically run the satelites can at any time set co-ord off by as much as 10 meters. Don't know how much truth there is in it.
    If the person recoirding the position when they hide the 'treasure' is using a geodetic system other than WGS84, or the records the position using DD MM SS but writes it as DD MM.MM or transcribes it incorrectly, obviously you will struggle to find it.

    The errors which can affect the GPS reading due to local influences are masking (when a tree or cliff masks the signal from a few satellites) resulting in poor geometry of the remaining satellites used for the fix, or multipath (when the signal reflects off a surface, like a cliff) and arrives at the GPS sometimes from two or three directions, each with a slight time delay. That results in a range computing error. Sometimes masking and multipath happen at the same time. The satellite is masked by a tree, but the signal bounces off a nearby cliff and is still received by the GPS. The extra travel of the signal results in a range error for that satellite equal to the extra distance it travelled.

    It is not common for weather to influence the signal. Sometimes low elevation satellites suffer from refraction errors when they travel through the ionosphere, again resulting in range errors for that satellite.

    The standard Navstar GPS has 2 signals on different frequencies. One for civilian use and one for US military use. The civilian one has an intentional 'dithering' of the atomic clock which introduces range errors.
    The original error introduced some 20 years ago resulting in an accuracy of "within 100m with 95% reliability". The military frequency is not influenced by errors so those GPS's still operate regardless. Most top end GPS's have dual frequency Navstar receivers and sometimes even include the Russian GLONASS 'GPS' receiver for good measure.

    WAAS/EGNOS satellites are independant of the US Navstar GPS and have no error and broadcast a correction for the errors introduced by the dithering, hence the better accuracy for WAAS enabled GPS's. WAAS was specifically introduced for the aviation authorities to counteract the errors.

    With the introduction of WAAS and new systems like Galileo, the US DoD is hardly bothering with their intentional errors.
    Todd
    D4 V8 HSE

Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Daily notifications
    By Dirk in forum General 4x4 Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006/10/20, 06:57 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •