Solar panel amp meter - Page 4




Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4
Results 61 to 67 of 67
  1. #61
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Walker Bay
    Age
    74
    Posts
    7,814
    Thanked: 311

    Default Re: Solar panel amp meter

    Eggie if i used one of these meters as a hand held amp meter - panels were unplugged from Ctek - and inserted the source meter wires in the panels Brad Harrison with another Brad Harrison would it give me a read out ? Could I damage the panel?
    Last edited by Paul Dold; 2018/03/18 at 07:44 AM.
    Paul

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Stellenbosch
    Age
    67
    Posts
    3,765
    Thanked: 313

    Default Re: Solar panel amp meter

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Dold View Post
    Eggie if i used one of these meters as a hand held amp meter - panels were unplugged from Ctek - and inserted the source meter wires in the panels Brad Harrison with another Brad Harrison would it give me a read out ? Could I damage the panel?
    Amp meters need to be connected in line, with both sides (source & load) present, else no current can flow.

    If I understand you correctly, you pull the 2 BH connectors from panel to Ctek apart, and connect the meter in-line to re-establish the connection with the meter in the middle? That would be perfectly safe and normal and will give you both voltage and current readings from panel to Ctek.

    Should you connect the meter incorrectly by accident (ie reverse polarity), the panels and Ctek will be fine, but same might not apply for the meter.
    Eggie.

    What this country needs more and more, are more unemployed politicians.
    - apology to Edward Langley.

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Walker Bay
    Age
    74
    Posts
    7,814
    Thanked: 311

    Default Re: Solar panel amp meter

    Many thanks for the useful info!
    Paul

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Pretoria
    Age
    42
    Posts
    4,045
    Thanked: 413

    Default Re: Solar panel amp meter

    Paul, I'm also considering one of these watt meters for my current setup.

    How many wires does it have to connect? Only one red and one black?
    Nico Swart

    Triton 2.5DiD D/C with SS
    ZS6NJS
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Walker Bay
    Age
    74
    Posts
    7,814
    Thanked: 311

    Default Re: Solar panel amp meter

    2 wires (positive/Negative) to the load (Battery)
    Another two (same) to the source. (Solar)

    Check with Eggie I am NO expert.

    I had a problem - blew the solar fuse on my D250S (installed by a professional!)
    so I decided to play safe and only use it to meter the battery voltage and not solar amps.

    Its a good meter - read the other posts on this thread for info.




    Quote Originally Posted by Die SwartKat View Post
    Paul, I'm also considering one of these watt meters for my current setup.

    How many wires does it have to connect? Only one red and one black?
    Paul

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Pretoria
    Age
    42
    Posts
    4,045
    Thanked: 413

    Default Re: Solar panel amp meter

    I'm sure I'll be able to connect it. Was just wondering how many wires there are.

    I saw about your ordeal as I follow all these electrickery threads with interest.

    So it appears that this meter will only show amps consumed or amps replenished at a time depending on where in the line the installation is done. Or one must use 2 meters.

    I want to see simultaneously amps in and out as per the 1st pic. And those LED displays is much easier to see than the LCD display on the watt meter.

    These are both 10 amp units and lasted almost two years. But, it seems the Ctek finally cooked the amps in meter by supposedly supplying the full available 20 amps it could when starting the vehicle after a weekend of only utilizing solar panels. See 2nd pic. This is on a 12V battery. Clearly stuffed.

    So.......I'm looking into this watt meter you're using, but then I'd have by two, or two new V/A meters with a 20A rating this time, which is the rectangular ones as in the 3rd pic. The downside to this is that they have an external shunt - meaning more wiring to do, meaning I have to redo my entire connection box.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_9461.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	68.9 KB 
ID:	485521   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2335.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	57.1 KB 
ID:	485522   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	volt-and-amp-meter-with-shunt-20-amp.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	18.7 KB 
ID:	485523  
    Nico Swart

    Triton 2.5DiD D/C with SS
    ZS6NJS
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Walker Bay
    Age
    74
    Posts
    7,814
    Thanked: 311

    Default Re: Solar panel amp meter

    20 Amps via Ctek - Wow!

    Shunts are a hassle.

    My meter evidently keeps cumulative totals - see the post in this thread about
    installing a switch to switch it off and on.
    Paul

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •