Reset timing belt light?




Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Pretoria
    Age
    39
    Posts
    752
    Thanked: 3

    Default Reset timing belt light?

    The hilux has reached 150 000km!

    And to celebrate, the timing belt light came on. You can call me a p!ssie, but THAT belt was changed at 100k! And will be changed again at 200k!


    Now, how do I reset the light? think someone once said I should take the speedo out...and then? Turn the clock back

  2. #2
    Beans Guest

    Default

    Next to the light is a small hole to reset it. Stick a paperclip through the hole to reset it

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Pretoria
    Age
    39
    Posts
    752
    Thanked: 3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Beans View Post
    Next to the light is a small hole to reset it. Stick a paperclip through the hole to reset it

    Is this after removing the speedo, or can it be done with the truck in one piece?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2,483
    Thanked: 33

    Default

    There is a little rubber grommet on the speedo cluster glass, next to the trip meter reset button. Remove the rubber grommet and push the button on the cluster with a paper clip. No need to remove the dashboard.
    2004 Defender 110 Td5


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Pretoria
    Age
    39
    Posts
    752
    Thanked: 3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dawid View Post
    There is a little rubber grommet on the speedo cluster glass, next to the trip meter reset button. Remove the rubber grommet and push the button on the cluster with a paper clip. No need to remove the dashboard.
    Nope! Not on my truck! No grommet, no hole!

    So, is this then out with the speedo?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Centurion
    Age
    38
    Posts
    204
    Thanked: 0

    Default Resetting Timing Light

    The timing light does come on at 150k kms. The way to reset it is to remove the cluster from the car, place it facedown on a cloth to prevent damage to it and remove the screw from the timing belt screw hole and install it in the adjacent screw hole.

    This is not that difficult, the cluster is removed fairly easily, when you look at the cluster from the back, the timing belt screw holes are at the top, just left of center.

    I've done this myself and it takes about 30min. Dealers also do this, but they charge you for labour.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Age
    49
    Posts
    72
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    Reset mine last night after reading this post. I was surprised how easy it turned out to be for something I have been putting off for some time. Most other forumss talk about an hour or two and fiddling to get the speedo cable back etc. Did not even have to take the cluster completely out to change the screw to the other hole. Just half flipped it over.

    Biggest surprise was that there is no speedo cable attached to the back of the instrument cluster - all electronic but still with an old fashioned dial up front.

    Thanks for the good advice.
    2012 Prado D4D, 2000 Pajero 3.5 Blisterfender SWB, 2014 Hilux 3.0 D4D Raider, 1981 Hilux SFA, Echo 3 trailer

  8. #8
    hornet Guest

    Default pls help if possible

    Quote Originally Posted by Heinri View Post
    The timing light does come on at 150k kms. The way to reset it is to remove the cluster from the car, place it facedown on a cloth to prevent damage to it and remove the screw from the timing belt screw hole and install it in the adjacent screw hole.

    This is not that difficult, the cluster is removed fairly easily, when you look at the cluster from the back, the timing belt screw holes are at the top, just left of center.

    I've done this myself and it takes about 30min. Dealers also do this, but they charge you for labour.
    I hope you can help me, after replacing the timing belt, tensioner & idler on my 2001 Raider KZTE last weekend, i still have the problem of resetting the timing belt warning light. I need to know how to remove the instrument cluster. I read your post about this "fairly easy" simple procedure. I have tried searching in various manuals & on the internet for procedures to do this, but find almost nothing. I am pretty reluctant to undertake this task without knowing exactly what i'll encounter. There are only 2 visible screws above the rev-counter & speedometer - when these are removed . .what then . .? Could somebody perhaps send me some pictures, or an excerpt from a manual explaining this? How exactly do i remove the cluster?
    Regards
    Last edited by hornet; 2009/07/24 at 12:41 PM. Reason: added important info

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Age
    59
    Posts
    61
    Thanked: 0

    Default Reset timing belt light at 150000 km - Toyota Condor

    I own a Toyota Condor 3L diesel which also did 150 000 km when the warning light of the timing belt came on. When I received it after the 150 000 km service with the agents here in PE, where they replaced the timing belt, and supposedly reset the warning light, my radio did not work properly. The motion censor that was fitted just below the radio also don't work. When I went back to complain, I was told that they had to take out the whole dashboard to reset the light and the radio was obviously broken in this process. If it is such an easy procedure on the Toyota bakkies, surely doing it on a Condor must also be a straight forward procedure where you don't have to take the whole dashboard apart. Can anybody please give me some advice on this please?

    Thanks
    Ockert

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Pretoria
    Age
    39
    Posts
    752
    Thanked: 3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ockert View Post
    I own a Toyota Condor 3L diesel which also did 150 000 km when the warning light of the timing belt came on. When I received it after the 150 000 km service with the agents here in PE, where they replaced the timing belt, and supposedly reset the warning light, my radio did not work properly. The motion censor that was fitted just below the radio also don't work. When I went back to complain, I was told that they had to take out the whole dashboard to reset the light and the radio was obviously broken in this process. If it is such an easy procedure on the Toyota bakkies, surely doing it on a Condor must also be a straight forward procedure where you don't have to take the whole dashboard apart. Can anybody please give me some advice on this please?

    Thanks
    Ockert
    Don't know the Condor, but it sounds like Deja Moo!!!

    Why would you take out the complete dash board to remove the speedo cluster
    I have met some crazy people. They have made me their leader...

    Si vis pacem, para bellum

  11. #11
    hornet Guest

    Default toyota timing belt light reset

    Good luck with your Condor. I recently had to reset the timing belt warning light on my KZTE Raider double-cab & YES .. it involves removing the dashboard trim from around the instrument cluster as well as around the heater, radio and airvents. The entire instrument cluster needs to be removed and the reset screw on the back of the instrument cluster needs to be moved to its new position.. Its a job - but i guess it has to be done !

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011/03/08, 09:01 AM
  2. Suzuki Jimny - Timing Belt or Chain?
    By gutsie in forum Suzuki
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2011/02/04, 08:21 PM
  3. Discovery I Tdi 300 timing belt cover dust seal
    By Thys Willemse in forum Land Rover
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008/01/02, 12:33 PM
  4. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2007/10/16, 08:18 PM
  5. Timing Belt Replacement on V6
    By Scubadude in forum Mitsubishi
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 2007/09/20, 10:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •